LibGuides: LIM_ G722: Church, Sacraments and Liturgy: Ebooks

MLA Citation of Ebooks

MLA Citation Style for Ebooks

To learn how to cite ebooks both parenthetically in your paper and on your Works Cited page, read the PDF file here. You may also refer to the LIM Guide to Written Theological Reflection found in Canvas and the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.

Get Help

Handouts and Tutorials
A wide variety of handouts and video tutorials about general research, subject specific research, and technology help are available you in the Get Help section of the library's website; click this link to browse them.
Email the Monroe Library
You may email the Outreach Librarians; when emailing, be sure to indicate that you are a LIM onsite (extension) or online student.

Recommended Ebooks

The texts listed below have been chosen by the course's Instructor of Record as significant and appropriate sources that could possibly be used in completing the course papers.

Reference Books

Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and Literati Database):

"Title of Entry." Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology. Edited by Ian A. McFarland et al,, Cambridge UP, 2011. Literati Database. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
The Cambridge Companion to Christian Doctrine edited by Colin E. Gunton
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and Cambridge Companions Online):

Last name, First. “Title of Entry.” The Cambridge Companion to Christian Doctrine. Edited by Colin E. Gunton, Cambridge UP, 1997, pp. a-b. Cambridge Companions Online. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.

(Note: X-y. indicated the inclusive page numbers on which the entry appears.)
The Cambridge Companion to the Trinity edited by Peter C. Phan
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and Cambridge Companions Online):

Doe, Jane. "Title of Chapter." The Cambridge Companion to the Trinity. Edited by Peter C. Phan, Cambridge UP, 2011. X-y. Cambridge Companions Online. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.

(Note: X-y. indicated the inclusive page numbers on which the entry appears.)
The Cambridge Companion to Postmodern Theology edited by Kevin J. Vanhoozer
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and Cambridge Companions Online):

Last name, First. “Title of Chapter.” The Cambridge Companion to Postmodern Theology. Edited by Kevin J. Vanhoozer, Cambridge UP, 2003, pp. a-b. Cambridge Companions Online. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans. Date of access. Web.
The Blackwell Companion to Catholicism by James Buckley
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and Wiley Online Library):

Buckley, James Joseph. The Blackwell Companion to Catholicism. Blackwell, 2007. Wiley Online Library. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
The Blackwell Companion to the Bible and Culture edited by John F.A. Sawyer
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and Wiley Online Library):

Last name, First. "Title of Chapter." The Blackwell Companion to the Bible and Culture. Edited by John F.A. Sawyer, Blackwell, 2007, pp. a-b. Wiley Online Library. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.

(Note: X-y. indicated the inclusive page numbers on whihc the chaper appears.)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts edited by Timothy Beal
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and Oxford Reference):

Last Name,First. "Title of Entry." The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts. Edited by Timothy Beal, Oxford UP, 2016. Oxford Reference. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.

Church

Faith, History, and Cultures: Stability and Change in Church Teachings by Walter H. Principe
more...less...
Full citation (italicize book's title and eBook Collection):

Principe, Walter H. Faith, History, and Cultures: Stability and Change in Church Teachings. Marquette UP, 1991. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans. W
The Emergence of Christianity by Cynthia White
more...less...
Full citation (italicize book's title and eBook Collection):

White, Cynthia. The Emergence of Christianity. Greenwood, 2007. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
The Early Christian World, Vol. 1, edited by Philip Francis Esler
more...less...
Full citation (italicize book's title and eBook Collection):

Doe, Jane. "Title of Chapter." The Early Christian World. Vol. 1. Edited by Philip Francis Esler, Routledge, 2000, pp. a-b. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
The Early Christian World, Vol. 2, edited by Philip Francis Esler
more...less...
Full citation (italicize book's title and eBook Collection):

Doe, Jane. "Title of Chapter." The Early Christian World. Vol. 2. Philip Francis Esler, Routledge, 2000, pp. a-b. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
Women Preachers and Prophets through Two Millennia of Christianity edited by Beverly Mayne Kienzle and Pamela J. Walker
more...less...
Full citation (italicize book's title and eBook Collection):

Doe, Jane. "Title of Chapter," Women Preachers and Prophets through Two Millennia of Christianity. Edited by Beverly Mayne Kienzle and Pamela J. Walker, U of California P, 1998, pp. a-b. eBook Collection. Monroe Lib., Loyola U New Orleans. Web. Date of access.
Voting about God in Early Church Councils by Ramsay MacMullen
more...less...
Full citation (italicize book's title and eBook Collection):

MacMullen, Ramsay. Voting about God in Early Church Councils. Yale UP, 2006. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
A History of the Church in the Middle Ages by Donald F. Logan
more...less...
Full citation (italicize book's title and eBook Collection):

Logan, F. Donald. A History of the Church in the Middle Ages. Routledge, 2002. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
“The ‘Invention’ of Clergy and Laity in the Twelfth Century” by Gary Macy in A Sacramental Life: A Festschrift Honoring Bernard Cooke
more...less...
Full citation (italicize book's title and eBook Collection):

Macy, Gary. “The ‘Invention’ of Clergy and Laity in the Twelfth Century.” A Sacramental Life: A Festschrift Honoring Bernard Cooke. Edited by Michael H. Barnes and William P. Roberts, Marquette UP, 2003, pp. 117-36. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
Vatican II: Renewal within Tradition edited by Matthew Lamb and Matthew Levering
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Doe, John. "Title of Chapter." Vatican II: Renewal within Tradition. Edited by Matthew L. Lamb and Matthew Levering, Oxford UP, 2008, pp. a-b. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
The Reception of Vatican II Liturgical Reforms in the Life of the Church by Pierre-Marie Gy
more...less...
Full citation (italicize book's title and eBook Collection):

Gy, Pierre-Marie. The Reception of Vatican II Liturgical Reforms in the Life of the Church. Marquette UP, 2003. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
Making a Meal of It: Rethinking the Theology of the Lord’s Supper by Ben Witherington
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Witherington, Ben. Making a Meal of It: Rethinking the Theology of the Lord’s Supper. Baylor UP, 2007. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
The Cambridge Companion to Reformation Theology edited by David Bagchi and David C. Steinmetz
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and Cambridge Companions Online):

Last name, First. “Title of Entry.” The Cambridge Companion to Reformation Theology. Edited by David Bagchi and David C. Steinmetz, Cambridge UP, 2004, pp. a-b. Cambridge Companions Online. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.

(Note: X-y. indicated the inclusive page numbers on which the entry appears.)
The Cambridge Companion to Aquinas edited by Norman Kretzmann and Eleonore Stump
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and Cambridge Companions Online):

Last name, First. “Title of Entry.” The Cambridge Companion to Aquinas. Ed. Norman Kretzmann and Eleonore Stump, Cambridge UP, 1993, pp.a-b. Cambridge Companions Online. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
The Cambridge Companion to Augustine edited by Norman Kretzmann and Eleonore Stump
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and Cambridge Companions Online):

Last name, First. “Title of Entry.” The Cambridge Companion to Augustine. Edited by Norman Kretzmann and Eleonore Stump, Cambridge UP, 2004, pp. a-b. Cambridge Companions Online. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.

Ministry

“The Sacramentality of Friendship and Its Implications for Ministry” by Barbara J. Fleischer and Gerald M. Fagin in A Sacramental Life: A Festschrift Honoring Bernard Cooke
more...less...
Full citation (italicize book's title and eBook Collection):

Fleischer, Barbara J., and Gerald M. Fagin. “The Sacramentality of Friendship and Its Implications for Ministry.” A Sacramental Life: A Festschrift Honoring Bernard Cooke. Edited by Michael H. Barnes and William P. Roberts, Marquette UP, 2003, pp. 231-52. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.

Sacraments

Christian Symbol and Ritual: An Introduction by Bernard Cooke
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title of book and Oxford Scholarship Online Database):

Cooke, Bernard J. Christian Symbol and Ritual: An Introduction. Oxford UP, 2005. Oxford Scholarship Online Database. Monroe Lib., Loyola U New Orleans.
Seeable Signs: The Iconography of the Seven Sacraments by Ann Eljenholm Nichols
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title of book and eBook Collection):

Nichols, Ann Eljenholm. Seeable Signs: The Iconography of the Seven Sacraments. Boydell, 1994. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
God and Grace of Body: Sacrament in Ordinary by David Brown
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and Oxford Scholarship Online Database):

Brown, David. God and Grace of Body: Sacrament in Ordinary. Oxford UP, 2007. Oxford Scholarship Online Database. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
Making a Meal of It: Rethinking the Theology of the Lord’s Supper by Ben Witherington
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Witherington, Ben. Making a Meal of It: Rethinking the Theology of the Lord’s Supper. Baylor UP, 2007. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
“Marriage: Covenant and Sacrament" by Michael Lawler in A Sacramental Life: A Festschrift Honoring Bernard Cooke
more...less...
Full citation (italicize book's title and eBook Collection):

Lawler, Michael: “Marriage: Covenant and Sacrament.” A Sacramental Life: A Festschrift Honoring Bernard Cooke. Edited by Michael H.Barnes and William P. Roberts, Marquette UP, 2003, pp. 137-56. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.

Liturgy

Praising God: The Trinity in Christian Worship by Ruth Duck and Patricia Wilson-Kastner
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Duck, Ruth, and Patricia Wilson-Kastner. Praising God: The Trinity in Christian Worship. Westminster John Knox, 1997. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
Finding Words for Worship by Ruth Duck
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Duck, Ruth. Finding Words for Worship. Westminster John Knox, 1995. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
In Procession before the World: Martyrdom as Public Liturgy in Early Christianity by Robin Darling Young
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Young, Robin Darling. In Procession before the World: Martyrdom as Public Liturgy in Early Christianity. Marquette UP, 2001. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
“The Poem of the Liturgy” by Jean LeClercq
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Leclercq, Jean. “The Poem of the Liturgy.” Love of Learning and the Desire for God: A Study of Monastic Culture. 3rd ed., Oxford UP, 1982. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
“Church and Architecture in Liturgy” (Renaissance)
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and Literati Database):

“Church and Architecture in Liturgy.” The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of the Italian Renaissance. Thames & Hudson, 2006. Literati Database. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
Vatican II: Renewal within Tradition edited by Matthew Lamb and Matthew Levering
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Last Name, First. "Title of Chapter." Vatican II: Renewal within Tradition. Edited by Matthew L. Lamb and Matthew Levering, Oxford UP, 2008, pp. a-b. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
The Reception of Vatican II Liturgical Reforms in the Life of the Church by Pierre Marie Gy
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Gy, Pierre Marie. The Reception of Vatican II Liturgical Reforms in the Life of the Church. Marquette UP, 2003. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
The Theology of Louis-Marie Chauvet by Glenn Ambrose
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title of book and EBL Database):

Ambrose, Glenn. The Theology of Louis-Marie Chauvet. Ashgate, 2011. EBL Database. Monroe Library of New Orleans.
Worship with One Accord: Where Liturgy and Ecumenism Embrace by Geoffrey Wainwright
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title of book and eBook Collection):

Wainwright, Geoffrey. Worship with One Accord: Where Liturgy and Ecumenism Embrace. Oxford UP, 1997. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.

Subject Guide

Laurie Phillips

Contact:

504-864-7833

Subjects: Course Guides, LIM, Ministry, Music, Music Education, Music Industry Studies, Music Therapy, Musical Theatre