Related Guides
MLA Citation of Databases
To learn how to cite sources from databases both parenthetically in your paper and on your Works Cited page, read the PDF file here. You may also refer to the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. The LIM Guide to Written Theological Reflection also contains citation information; online and on-campus students will find this in their Canvas course; extension students will find it on the LIM documents page.
Get Help with the Catalog and Databases
- Research Handouts and TutorialsA wide variety of handouts and video tutorials about general research, subject specific research, and technology help are available you in the Get Help section of the library's website; click this link to browse them.
- Email the Monroe LibraryYou may email the Outreach Librarians; when emailing, be sure to indicate that you are a LIM onsite (extension) or online student.
Databases
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (ATLAS)Find scholarly and non-scholarly journal and magazine articles on religion.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
Journals
- Caring ConnectionsAn inter-Lutheran journal for practitioners and teachers of pastoral care and counseling. Chaplains, pastoral counselors, seminary faculty and other teachers in academic settings, clinical educators, synod and district leaders, and concerned pastors and laity will find it of interest.
Catalogs
- Online catalogThe library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs. The books listed below are a few of the many that can be found in the library's stacks.
- The Heart of Pastoral Counseling: Healing through Relationship by Richard DayringerCall Number: BV4012.2 .D39 1998
- Comforting the Fearful: Listening Skills for Caregivers by Leroy HoweCall Number: BV4908.5 .H67 2003
- The Tree of Healing: Psychological & Biblical Foundations for Counseling and Pastoral Care by Roger HurdingCall Number: BV4012.2 .H844 1988
- Pastoral Care and Counseling: Redefining the Paradigms by Nancy RamsayCall Number: BV4012.2 .P276 2004
Subject Guide
Laurie Phillips
Contact:
504-864-7833
Subjects: Course Guides, LIM, Ministry, Music, Music Education, Music Industry Studies, Music Therapy, Musical Theatre
Monroe Library Chat
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.