Help
- HelpBrief videos.
Other useful guides
- Psychological Sciences research guideFull guide to research in psychological sciences.
- A-Z electronic resourcesDoes not include individual electronic books and journals.
- APA citation tutorialsShort video tutorials.
- Finding full textWith Get It! and Journal Finder
- Library database tutorialsTutorials for selected databases.
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).
Online Catalogs
- Online catalogThe library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- Tulane Howard-Tilton LibraryCome by the Learning Commons Desk for a TU/LU card to check out books from Tulane.
- OCLC WorldCatCatalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
Databases
Start with PsycINFO for scholarly journal articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations.
Don't bother with PsycARTICLES if you've already searched PsycINFO. SocINDEX with Full Text is for a sociological perspective. For information from a health sciences or biological perspective, see MEDLINE. Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources.
- PsycINFOStart here. Citations and abstracts for articles, book chapters, books and dissertations on psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Includes some non-English language material. Covers 1887 to present for articles; 1987 to present for books. APA help.
- PsycARTICLESDon't search this one if you've already searched PsycINFO. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO.
- SocINDEX with Full TextComprehensive index to sociology, covering 640 core journals, 530 priority, and 1420 selectively-covered journals with many books, conference papers and author profiles. Varies, some as early as 1895.
- MedlineContains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material. 1966 to present.
- ERICJournal and magazine articles, dissertations and theses, and other documents about education. Some non-English material. Covers 1966 to present.
- Annual ReviewsFull text of review articles in the sciences and social sciences. We have many, but not all years of all titles.
- Mental Measurements YearbookContains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. This contains data from 1989 to present, beginning with Yearbook 9. Note: text of the actual test is not provided. 1989 to present.
