Frequently Used
- Online catalogThe library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology. 1991 to present.
Help
- HelpBrief videos.
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).
Using Google Scholar at Loyola
- Google ScholarFind scholarly articles, meeting papers, and books. Look for the Full Text Finder links to full text and other services. More at the Google Scholar guide.
Google Scholar covers a large number of peer-reviewed journals and other resources, but using it effectively requires setting it up to work with the library's vast array of over 80,000 electronic journals.
Google Scholar does not include books or videos in our collection. It also lacks special features like limiting by language, year of publication, or other controlled vocabulary ("thesaurus"). Many of our databases have their own ways to focus results, like limiting by age of subject in PsycINFO.
While on campus, simply click on the link below. This link is designed for off-campus use, and will require signin if you are not on campus. It does no harm to follow the instructions below for off-campus access and may help. If you sign in to use Scholar, you'll automatically carry your settings over.
Using Google Scholar away from Loyola
If you're not on Loyola's campus, you will change Scholar settings:
- Go to Google Scholar
- Select Settings
- Select Library Links
- Enter Loyola New Orleans and click Search
- Check the box to the left of Loyola University - Get it @ Loyola
- Select Save
Once you've done this, you will be able to locate our journals. If you have a Gmail, Drive or other Google account, sign in first. Once you do, your settings will be saved from one session to the next. Otherwise, you will have to go through the settings process each time.
Google Scholar Citation Searching
Google Scholar can find articles that have cited articles you already know about. This is one way to take an older article and bring its content up to date. Click the "Google Scholar" taqb above to find out how to do this.
