Last Updated: Jul 11, 2013
- Boolean Operators
Here's a link to a webpage from Ithaca College Library. The page describes advanced searching techniques, such as Boolean operators, truncation, and wild cards.
In these databases you'll find citations to materials from journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. Some materials are available in full text. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the Monroe Library does not own.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Merged CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Mostly magazines and journals with some encyclopedia and handbook entries. Dates of coverage vary, includes current publications.
- Business Source Complete
Find articles about business in magazines, newspapers and journals, author profiles, and country economic reports. Coverage varies, as early as 1886 to present.
- ABI/Inform Global
Provides citations to articles on business, international business, marketing, management, finance and related areas. Covers 1970 to present.
- MRI+ (MediaMark Online)
MRI+ is the online version of MediaMark Reports, the business demographic information service. Note: You must create an account using your Loyola e-mail and any password before using. Upper and lower case are different, so please remember which you use. Once you log in, click the "Mediamark Reporter" link in the upper-right of the page. Works with Firefox 2+, Internet Explorer 6+, Safari 2+, Opera 9+, Netscape 7+. 1963 to present.
- Local Market Audience Analyst
The online equivalent of the Lifestyle Market Planner, with marketing and demographic data.
Note: Use the "Click here to access SRDS services" link in the middle of the page. Then select "Local Market Audience Analyst" at the top of the list. This database must be accessed on campus. Use with Internet Explorer browser.
- U.S. Census Bureau American FactFinder
Search for population, housing, economic, and geographic information from the Census.
- Business Source Complete
Find articles about business in magazines, newspapers and journals, author profiles, and country economic reports. Coverage varies, as early as 1886 to present. Click "More" and then "Company Profiles" to view DataMonitor and LifeStyle Analytics reports.
- LexisNexis Academic
A large database that provides access to full-text articles and documents that span a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Includes some non-English titles. Coverage generally begins in the mid-1980s. Contains financial data on U.S. publicly and privately-held companies. Use the "Get Company Info" search on the right hand side.
- Mergent Online
Text and comprehensive financial data on U.S. and international publicly-held companies, also country profiles.
Search by company name or ticker symbol. Please click Log Out when you are finished (upper right corner). Here's a link to Citing Mergent Online as a Source.
Chat with the AJCU consortium:
Chat with Backup Staff:
Our chat service is offline.
Please contact us at 504-864-7111 or at firstname.lastname@example.org