Related Guides
If you're interested in Chemistry, these subjects may also be helpful for your research.
Frequently Used
- Online catalogThe library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology. 1991 to present.
Help
- HelpBrief videos.
Chemistry course guides
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).
Library Resources
The most comprehensive chemistry research tool is SciFinder Scholar, which requires registration. In these databases you'll find scholarly research and popular articles on the chemical sciences from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some provide the full text of articles and others provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Full Text Finder button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on chemistry, search the library's catalog. You may also want to visit the lists for physics, the biological sciences, and mathematics.
- SciFinder-nSearch the worldwide literature of chemistry in the online equivalent of Chemical Abstracts. (User registration required from this page.) Covers 1962 to present. Abbreviation list.
- American Chemical Society web journalsSearchable full text of most ACS journals. Covers all years for journals included.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- Annual ReviewsFull text of review articles in the sciences and social sciences. We have many, but not all years of all titles.
- arXivOpen access to nearly one million mostly unreviewed pre-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
- NatureSearch and browse for articles in this scientific journal from its beginning to the present day, 1869 to present.
- PubChemPubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It consists of three linked databases: Compound, Substance and Bioassay. Links to PubMed. Previously known as ChemIDPlus.
- Science and Technology CollectionIndexes over 1700 journals in science and technology with full text for over 800. Dates vary, as early as 1904.
- ScienceDirectRecent full-text articles from many Elsevier journals in science and the social sciences. Not all journals are available. If you browse, look for the small green icon for subscribed journals. 1995 to present.
