- Biography in Context
Locate full-text biographies from reference books, citations to magazine and journal articles, and selected web sites. Dates vary.
- Credo Reference
Search or browse for facts and information across over 500 full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, bilingual dictionaries and more.
- Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Full-text encyclopedia devoted to social activism published in 2007.
- Encyclopedia of Life
Free encyclopedia of organisms, with general and scientific information on taxonomy, distribution, genetics, evolutionary history, and more.
- Encyclopedia of Political Science
Search or browse the full text of a multi-volume, multi-authored encyclopedia. Prepared with the assistance of the American Political Science Association. Note: uses popups. Published 2011.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
A general-interest encyclopedia with over 25,000 articles on all subjects, some biographical information. Updated annually.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of over 140 reference books (over 550 volumes) in all subject areas published 1990 to 2010.
- KnowLA: Digital Encyclopedia of Louisiana History and Culture
Peer-reviewed, scholarly articles on Louisiana by recognized experts. A project of the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities.
- Literary Reference Center
Research authors of literature and their works in scholarly journals, books, and encyclopedias. Includes literary criticism, plot summaries, author biographies, book reviews, full text poems, short stories, and classic novels.
- Merriam-Webster Dictionary
Online dictionary and thesaurus based on the print Merriam-Webster products.
- New Catholic Encyclopedia
The full text of the 15-volume 2003 New Catholic Encyclopedia, with articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more. 2003 edition plus annual updates.
- Oxford Art Online
Visual art encyclopedia online with over 45,000 articles includes bibliographies and links to many images. Consists of the Grove Dictionary of Art, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art. Formerly Grove Art Online.
- Oxford Biblical Studies Online
Browse and search a collection of reference materials on the Bible and its world, including archaeology, arts, literature, geography, history, law, politics, material culture, science and more. Includes a Bible verse lookup and other tools.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from international English language sources.
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Bilingual dictionaries for English to and from Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish. Includes audio pronunciation from native speakers, usage examples and phrases, grammar, verb tables, pronunciation charts, spelling and punctuation assistance, correspondence templates with sample letters, CVs and resumes, notes in life and culture and idiomatic usage.
- Oxford Music Online
Music encyclopedia with the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, and the Oxford Companion of Music. Formerly Grove Music Online.
- Oxford Reference
Search for entries in many Oxford University Press dictionaries and other reference books, including foreign language dictionaries.
- Sage Reference Online
Full text of six specialized online encyclopedias.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An encyclopedia of philosophy maintained by experts and available to everyone. Not complete.