Last Updated: Jun 15, 2015
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- OCLC WorldCat
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
- Library of Congress Catalog
The online catalog of the Library of Congress, listing millions of books, past and present.
The databases below are ones we recommend for English/Literature. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. To find books on English/Literature, search the library's catalog.
- Oxford Reference
Search for entries in many Oxford University Press dictionaries and other reference books, including foreign language dictionaries.
- MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of citations related to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in nearly 4,000 scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and other formats. Includes some non-English language material.
1926 to present
- Academic Search Complete
Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present
- International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) Online
A multilingual listing of over 330,000 articles and other publications on the Middle Ages. Updated quarterly.
Note: When finished, please click Logout in upper right. We have a limited number of simultaneous users.
Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.
Beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago
- Project MUSE Standard
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title.
1993 to present
- Literary Reference Center
Research authors of literature and their works in scholarly journals, books, and encyclopedias. Includes literary criticism, plot summaries, author biographies, book reviews, full text poems, short stories, and classic novels
- Literature Resource Center
Full text and citations to magazine and journal articles on authors, literature, literary movements, etc.
- Drama Online
Play scripts and writing about drama from Aeschylus to the present day.
- Scribner Writers Series
Provides articles on more than 1600 authors and literary genres drawn from the Scribner print series.
- Twayne's Author Series
Full text books on literary authors, browsable by author name, genre, gender, time period and nationality.
- Digital Scriptorium
Images of mediaeval and renaissance manuscripts.
A digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide.
Prehistory to 20th century
Chat with the AJCU consortium:
Chat with Backup Staff:
Our chat service is offline.
Please contact us at 504-864-7111 or at email@example.com