Related subjects
Frequently Used
- Online catalogThe library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology. 1991 to present.
Help
- HelpBrief videos.
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).
Journal indexes
This list suggests the most important journal and magazine indexing services, leading you to individual articles on a topic. If you have questions, please contact Jim Hobbs (hobbs@loyno.edu or 504-864-7126) for assistance with forensic chemistry or Teri Gallaway (gallaway@loyno.edu or 504-864-7838) for criminal justice.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full TextProvides coverage of major English-language criminology journals and books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. A summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided. Covers 1968 to present.
- Science and Technology CollectionIndexes over 1700 journals in science and technology with full text for over 800. Dates vary, as early as 1904.
- SciFinder-nSearch the worldwide literature of chemistry in the online equivalent of Chemical Abstracts. (User registration required from this page.) Covers 1962 to present. Abbreviation list.
