Skip to main content /* Submitted right after the opening tab */

Archival Resources for LGBT+ : Home

Local, regional, and digital archival resources for LGBT+ research.

Loyola University Special Collections & Archives:

WYES Informed Sources Archive (PDF)

In 1984, WYES, New Orleans' public television station, began broadcasting Informed Sources, a program devoted to in-depth discussion of the news by local journalists. The Informed Sources collection consists of DVDs, originally recorded in both VHS and Betacam formats. The size of the collection expands as the show continues to broadcast and the programs are transferred from WYES to the Loyola University Monroe Library Special Collections & Archives for cataloging and safekeeping.

Relevant LGBT+ topics include Gay Marriage, Gay Tourism in New Orleans, and Gay Mardi Gras Krewes.

 

Phil Johnson Editorials Collection (PDF)

The Phil Johnson Editorials Collection for WWL-TV New Orleans contains some 10,000 editorials written and delivered by Phil Johnson from 1962 to 1999. The daily editorials represent 37 years of local, national and international political history. The nightly editorials represented a bold step in television news when first aired, and set the local CBS affiliate apart from other stations. Johnson, a Loyola University graduate and Harvard University Neiman Fellow, served at WWL-TV as news director, documentary producer and assistant general manager.

Relevant content includes editorial copy from July 25, 1973 covering the arson attack at the Upstairs Bar in the French Quarter, the deadliest attack on LGBT people in United States history. 

Loyola University Publications:

The Maroon | View collection (new!) Read online

Loyola University student newspaper. Collection covers the years 1924 - present. More details

Relevant content includes articles and editorials concerning the LGBT+ experience on campus.

 

Vertical Files

Odd or ephemeral university or university-related material arranged alphabetically by broad subject area or by title.

Relevant publication, Gay Outreach at Loyola (GOAL).

Local and Regional Resources:

Amistad Research Center Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Rights Subject Guide

Amistad Research Center is located within Tulane University's Tilton Memorial Hall and is the nation's oldest, largest and most comprehensive independent archive specializing in the history of African Americans and other Ethnic Minorities.

 

LaRC Resources For Louisiana LGBT History And Culture

The Louisiana Research Collection (LaRC) is the oldest, largest, and most comprehensive research center for New Orleans and supports the teaching, research, and community-building missions of Tulane University by collecting, preserving, and making easily accessible library and archival resources relating to the study of Louisiana.

 

LGBT+ Archives Project of Louisiana

LGBT+ Archives Project of Louisiana promotes and encourages the protection and preservation of materials chronicling Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgender Community in Louisiana. Provides an information directory of LGBT+ archival depositories in Louisiana and a regularly updated bibliography listing periodicals, books, and other print publications concerning the LGBT+ community of Louisiana.

Online Resources

Archives of Lesbian Oral History (ALOT)

Founded in 2010, the Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony digitize and make oral histories and testimony of same-sex and same-gender attracted women available online, inclusive of Two Spirit, queer, bisexual, and lesbian women, transmen, and others.

 

Digital Transgender Archive (DTA)

The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than twenty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.

 

GLBT Archives

GLBT Archives is the world's largest online encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture and history.

 

Lavender Legacies Guide

A comprehensive directory and guide to LGBT primary source and archival material repositories in North America created by the Society of American Archivists’ Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable (LAGAR). 

 

The LGBT Community Center National History Archive

The LGBT Community Center National History Archive serves to preserve the history of the LGBT community and its rich heritage. Founded in 1990 by volunteer archivist Rich Wandel, the archive provides a look into the lives and experiences of LGBT people throughout the years. The Center Archive contains a wide range of media from as early as 1920, including photography, correspondence, news clippings, radio soundbytes, video broadcasts, and personal journals.

 

LGBT Religious Archives Network

The LGBT Religious Archives Network (LGBT-RAN) is a virtual archive and resource center preserving the history and encouraging scholarly study of LGBT religious movements around the world.

 

Library Of Congress LGBT Pride Month

Webpage celebrating the LGBT pride month of June, as detailed through Library of Congress (LOC) materials and resources documenting LGBT history. 

 

ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives at the USC Libraries

Founded in 1952, the ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives at the USC Libraries is the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records, and personal papers. 

 

Special Collections Registrar & Archivist

Kure Croker's picture
Kure Croker
Contact:
Campus Box 198
6363 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70118
504-864-7849
Website / Blog Page
Give Now