Last Updated: Jan 23, 2013
- Naxos Music Library
Search for, browse among and listen to classical, jazz and other musical recordings. Date range does not apply. All recordings available in full.
- Music Online
Access to online recordings in Classical Music Library, American Song, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound collections. Some liner notes in PDF.
- Classical Music Library
Primarily classical online streaming music. Browse or search by composer, artist, instrument, category, etc. All recordings available in full.
- Smithsonian Global Sound
Streaming audio of folk music recordings from around the world.
- American Song
Musical and spoken recordings from America\'s history from the late nineteenth century to the Civil Rights era. Recordings from the late 1800s to about 1960.
- Jazz Music Library
Over 60,000 streaming classic, contemporary, Latin and popular jazz recordings. Liner notes in PDF. Recordings issued 1923 to 2008.
- Contemporary World Music
Repository of folk and popular music from around the globe. Includes some liner notes. Dates not given. All recordings available in full.
- Search for Scores
Follow this link to search for scores in the Monroe Library's online catalog. Music scores are shelved at the back of the first floor.
- Search for music CDs
Follow this link to search for music compact discs in the Monroe Library. CDs are shelved at the back of the first floor and are organized by broad subjects.
- Search for DVDs
Follow this link to search for DVDs in the Monroe Library. DVDs are shelved in the Learning Commons area on the first floor. They are shelved in the order in which they were cataloged but alphabetical title lists are placed throughout the DVD shelving and at the front desk. Check the catalog for status.
- RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature
Provides citations and abstracts to articles, dissertations and books on music. Includes some non-English language material. Primarily scholarly. 1967 to present.
- International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMP FT)
Indexes more than 370 international music periodicals from over 20 countries. IIMP also includes retrospective coverage from over 185 periodicals dating back as far as 1874. IIMP covers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. Includes indexing to non-English language publications. Note: Mac users: change PDF file names to remove the '.do' at the end to save. 1874 to present
- Oxford Music Online
Searchable music encyclopedia that includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, and the Oxford Companion of Music. The Grove Dictionary of Opera only appears as archived material and is not searchable separately.
- Cambridge Companions Online
Collection of basic e-books in literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music. Browse and search titles 1991 to present from Cambridge University Press.
- PollStar Pro
News, columns, charts, boxoffice, tour & concert bookings, and more information on the music industry. Login by reference librarian required. Please come to the front desk for assistance with electronic version, or find the print version in music current periodicals section on the library first floor. Varies, archives from 2000.
- IPA Source
Collection of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
- Academic Search Complete
Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
JSTOR includes several collections of full-text scholarly journals. Music Collections are part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV. All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume of publication and run through 3, 4, or 5 years ago.
- Project MUSE Standard
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title. Mostly 1993 to present.
- International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) Online
A multilingual listing of over 330,000 articles and other publications on the Middle Ages. Updated quarterly.
- OCLC WorldCat
Catalog of books, scores, recordings, videos, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
- Digitized Music Scores from the Sibley Music Library, Eastman School of Music
Search or browse digitized music scores.
- International Music Score Library Project
A user-generated database of digitized scores. There are copyright warnings and restrictions on some items.
- Music-in-Print (emusicquest)
An online source for locating specific works of individual composers. This online version of the Music-In-Print has volumes on Sacred Choral, Classical Vocal, Orchestral, String, Classical Guitar, Woodwind, and Piano Music In Print. Includes non-English language material.
- Band Music PDF
BandMusic PDF Library are conservators and stewards of band music from the time of John Philip Sousa, Karl L. King, Henry Fillmore and all the other great composers who were active during the Golden Age of the American Town Band. Special focus is public domain music from the 1880s through 1922.