Browse Individual Journal Titles
To browse through individual issues of a specific journal, head over to our Journal Finder. Prof. Wessinger recommends the following periodicals for this course:
| Journal of Religion and Media | Journal for Religion, Film, and Media |
| Journal of Religion, Media, and Digital Culture | Journal of Religion and Film |
- Popular vs. Scholarly SourcesA brief yet detailed guide explaining the difference between popular and scholarly sources
- Research TutorialsThe library has prepared a number of helpful video tutorials to help you get started researching your paper. Topics include instructions for getting started, using databases, distinguishing popular and scholarly sources, and avoiding plagiarism, among others.
- Avoiding PlagiarismThis link shows several resources -- books, links, and services at Loyola -- that will help you document your sources properly. Don't wait until the last minute to start compiling your bibliography!
- The Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab)The Purdue OWL is a multi-purpose writing guide that includes clear instructions and examples showing correct formatting of both in-text citations and the bibliography. Styles covered include MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian.
Religious Studies Databases
ATLA Religion Database, Philosopher's Index, and the Religion and Philosophy Collection are among the better resources to use for theological research. Consult your professor and your subject librarian (Dr. Victoria Elmwood) for further guidance on how to use these databases for optimum results.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (ATLAS)Find scholarly and non-scholarly journal and magazine articles on religion published between 1949 and the present. Limited to four simultaneous users.
- Philosopher's IndexThe Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including over 680 journals in all areas of philosophy from more than 50 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
- Religion and Philosophy CollectionThis database provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, as far back as 1975 to present.
Interdisciplinary Databases With Religious Studies Coverage
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- JSTORFull-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We have Arts & Sciences I through XV, Life Sciences, and many others; click "more" below for a full list. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
Subject Guide
- Online catalog The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- WorldCat Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
- Using Interlibrary LoanIf we don't have it, we'll get it for you. Just sign up for an account on ILLiad, our interlibrary loan service.