A Message From Your Librarian Liaison
This research guide is designed to help you get started. I've highlighted three databases that I think will help in the early stages: Academic Search Complete, Philosopher's Index (includes articles on political philosophy), and JSTOR. For additional research sources I've included a link to the Political Science Research Guide which has a more complete list of databases and other resources for academic research. CQ Researcher is a resource I've included on this research guide in order to help explore current events in more depth than you will find in the news. This may be helpful as you narrow your topic and connect your selected political theorist to our world today.
I'm happy to meet with you to discuss your paper throughout the research process - click on the Meet with Lucy link underneath my picture to schedule an appointment.
I've included some information about how to connect Google Scholar searches with online library resources. The handout for Google Scholar will be most relevant when you are working off-campus. If you are using a computer/laptop on-campus (in the dorms, library, Danna Center etc.), it should already connect to library sources without needing to set anything up.
Political Science Research Guide
Exploring Current Events
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology. 1991 to present.
Helpful Reference Sources
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyAn online scholarly encyclopedia providing overviews of major philosophers.
Databases - Getting Started
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- Philosopher's IndexThe Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including over 680 journals in all areas of philosophy from more than 50 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
- JSTORFull-text scholarly journals in many subject areas, including 186 political science journals.
Get the Most out of Google Scholar
- Helpful HandoutThese instructions help you connect your search results in Google Scholar with online articles the library has.
Finding Books
To find books on Political Science, search the library's catalog. You can also browse our shelves in the "J" section on the third floor: J: Political Science.
- Library Catalog: Find books, videos, etc. in the Monroe LibraryUse the Monroe Library catalog to find books, DVDs, etc. You will *not* find journal articles in the catalog.
- Borrow books from Tulane's LibraryLoyola and Tulane have reciprocal borrowing for all students. Get a TU/LU card at the Monroe Library Learning Commons desk.
- Interlibrary LoanYou can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the library does not own.
