Skip to Main Content

Art & Art History: Home

Overview

As part of art courses, students explore why culturally significant objects came to exist, what purpose they served, and how they continue to captivate us. By studying human expression, artists and historians document the changing world. Art History for example examines the histories of art in cultural context, visual communication in the world today, and the impact of visual technology in the future. In studying Art History, you will learn to interpret and analyze art and visual culture

Below are some resources to help you with your assignments in Art & Art History courses. These include:

  • Online Image Databases that can be used to search for digital images;
  • Reference Resources for searching encyclopedia entries and other resources from art history and religious studies;
  • Databases with Peer-Reviewed Journals with full-text articles (and some magazines and books);

Don't forget to review the Citing Your Sources libguide, an important skill to cultivate in your studies.

Peer-Reviewed Journals

Religion and Philosophy Collection 

This database provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, as far back as 1975 to present.

Art & Architecture Complete 

Find full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts. It covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.

Journals owned by the Monroe Library

Books and Other Materials

Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources

Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).

Art Reference Resources

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts

An in-depth, comprehensive reference work that covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts

The Metropolitan Museum of Art / Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History

The Timeline presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met collection. It is a reference, research, and teaching tool conceived for students and scholars of art history. It is authored by The Met’s experts, and currently comprises more than 1,000 essays, close to 7,600 works of art, 300 chronologies, and 3,700 keywords. It is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.

Cambridge Companions Online 

Collection of basic e-books in literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music. Browse and search titles 1991 to present from Cambridge University Press.

Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art

Searchable text of the reference book.

Online Image Collections

On this research guide, we have pulled together a list of many image collections available at museums, libraries, and other institutions around the world.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts

An in-depth, comprehensive reference work that covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts

Art Indexes

Online Images Databases and Collections

ARTstor

A digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide from prehistory to the 20th century. ARTstor how-to videos.

more...

Metropolitan Museum of Art

The Met in New York City has a large digital collection of images that can be searched online. Some images may include object details and descriptions, information about provenance, and/or art historical information about the work(s).

The J. Paul Getty Museum

Thousands of images of artworks are available for download, without charge, under the Getty's Open Content Program.

Oxford Art Online This database is hidden to public view

Visual art encyclopedia online with over 45,000 articles includes bibliographies and links to many images. Consists of the Grove Dictionary of ArtConcise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art. Formerly Grove Art Online. Limited to three simultaneous users.

General Indexes and other Art Resources

Newspapers

Subject Guide

Design Digital Archives