Find Multimedia Content
-
World Digital LibrarySearch 19,147 items about 193 countries between 8000 BCE and 2000. Also able to browse by Country.
-
NEW! Smithsonian Open AccessDownload, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. his includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
-
Browse LOC "Free to Use and Reuse Sets"Access collections highlighting specific themes.
-
Internet Archive Movies/Moving Pictures ArchiveLarge collection of videos from the Internet Archive, including movies, documentaries, and news clips.
-
WorldCat Library Search ToolWorldCat searches thousands of library collections. Items may need to be requested through Monroe Library's Interlibrary Loan service.
Region-Specific Digital Collections
-
Europeana CollectionsOver 48 million "artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe." Most with Creative Commons licenses.
-
Library of CongressIncludes: Audio Recordings, Films, Videos, Legislation, Maps, Newspapers, Personal Narratives, Photos, Prints, Drawings.
Digital Library Guides & Lists
-
Harvard Library Digital Primary Sources GuideA collection of digital primary sources, both state-level and international. Many are open access but be aware that some resources may only be available to Harvard students.
-
Digital Library DirectoryCollects open access digital libraries across a variety of subject areas. Searchable by keyword and sortable by discipline.
Other Primary Sources (primarily newspapers)
-
Gale Primary SourcesHistorical publications: 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, the Times (of London) newspaper 1785-2011, and the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 1. (Also available individually.) Slavery and Anti-Slavery is not yet part of this service and must be searched separately.
-
New York TimesFull-text access to current and archive issues of the New York Times is provided by Monroe Library to all current students, staff, and faculty. First-time users will need to create an account using their Loyola email before logging in.
Register for a NYT account at site address
Capturing Video
If you find a video that cannot be downloaded, such as something on YouTube, you can use a program to record the portion of your screen that is playing the video, and then download that recording.
-
ScreenRecScreenRec is a free program to screencapture video, audio, and webcam feeds. The free version has a five-minute limit on recorded clips.
-
Camtasia (30-day free trial)Camtasia is paid software, but you can sign up for a 30-day free trial. It is primarily used for video editing but also has screencapture capabilities.
Interviewing and Filming
-
Radio Diaries DIY HandbookThe link to "Interviewing Tips" in part 2 of this online handbook provides some advice if you would like to conduct an interview as part of your film.
The Importance of a Storyboard
-
Storyboard TemplateCreating a storyboard is a good way to plan your film because it helps you pair text from your script with media (images, video clips, historic newspapers, infographics etc.) in a logical order.
How two tourists recreated Homer Simpson's culinary tour of 54 New Orleans restaurants in 7 days
"There was just one problem: Von Niederhäusern would only be in the city for a week. Pulling this off, they realized, would require meticulous planning, ensuring the endeavor was as efficient as possible. They printed out a storyboard of each shot in the Simpsons scene as well as a giant map of the city — marking the locations of all the restaurants, their addresses and opening hours."
