Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: HIST A202 Historical Methods Lab: Overview

Course Description, Learning Goals, & Library Support

COURSE DESCRIPTION:

This course will provide history majors with the basic skills and competencies necessary for advanced work in the discipline.

LEARNING GOALS AND OBJECTIVES:

Goal: To provide history majors with an overview of the basic methods of reading, studying, researching, and writing history.

Objective 1: To develop competencies in each of the four areas mentioned in the goal.

Objective 2: To test those competencies via the production of an original essay based on both primary documents and secondary sources.

LIBRARIAN SUPPORT:

Information Literacy Sessions

  • Exploratory Research
  • Strategic Searching
  • Evaluating Sources
  • Citation

Special Collections Session

  • Intro to Archival Research at Monroe Library

Librarian Session 1: Exploratory Research

Learning Objectives: 

Students will learn how to

  1. Use internet and library search tools differently
  2. Explore reference works and multidisciplinary databases
  3. "Read" a bibliography

Special Collections Session

Learning Objectives:

Students will learn how to

  1. Discover the range of holdings comprising Monroe Library's Special Collections & Archives
  2. Conduct basic archival research using the above collections
  3. Interact with select primary documents from the above collections

Librarian Session 2: Strategic Searching

Learning Objectives:

Students will learn how to

  1. Identify resources for primary and secondary historical sources
  2. Craft efficient search strategies for those tools
  3. Use a citation manager to organize the sources they find

Librarian Session 3: Evaluating Sources

Learning Objectives:

Students will learn how to

  1. Describe the authority of sources
  2. Characterize sources' relevance to a research project

Librarian Session 4: Citation

Learning Objectives:

Students will 

  1. Discuss the value of a citation style
  2. Practice writing footnotes and bibliographies