Subject Guide
Resources
Here are the resources that we recommend for use in Music Therapy.
- PsycINFOProvides citations and abstracts to articles, book chapters and books on subjects relating to psychology. Also provides citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Includes some non-English language material. Covers 1887 to present for articles; 1987 to present for books.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextProvides citations to most English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from allied health disciplines. Also covers consumer health, health sciences librarianship, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. Covers 1982 to present.
- MedlineContains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material. 1966 to present.
- British Journal of Music TherapyThe British Journal of Music Therapy is an important journal in music therapy, but it is not indexed in any of the Monroe Library's major indexes. Use this link to search full-text of this journal in the SAGE Premier package.
- ERICJournal and magazine articles, dissertations and theses, and other documents about education. Some non-English material. Covers 1966 to present.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- Music Therapy Books at the Monroe LibraryThis is a preset Music Therapy subject search. To search the Monroe Library catalog by subject, follow the link and search with terms connected with AND and click on Subject. Obviously, some books that music therapy students will use are not classed in the music therapy classification number so subject searching is helpful. Remember to include arts therapy as well.
- WorldCatCatalog of books, scores, CDs, videos, and web resources worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.). Check here to see if another library in the area owns the book you need.
- Mental Measurements YearbookContains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. This contains data from 1989 to present, beginning with Yearbook 9. Note: text of the actual test is not provided. 1989 to present.
Other useful tools
- Request for PurchaseIf there is a book or CD or DVD that you need and the Monroe Library does not own it, use this form to request that we purchase it or email me at phillips@loyno.edu. You may also use this form to let us know if we do not own sufficient resources in a particular subject area. Be as specific as possible!
- ILLiadILLiad is the system the Monroe Library uses to allow students and faculty to request books and articles from other libraries. Set up your ILLiad account in advance and you will be able to carry over citations from library databases through the Get it button.
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).