Librarian
Ebooks: Major Prophets (available in the Monroe Library)
Prophecy and the Biblical Prophets by
Full citation (but do italicize book's title and eBook Collection):
Sawyer, John F.A. Prophecy and the Biblical Prophets. Revised ed., Oxford UP, 1993. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780198262091Publication Date: 1993-08-26
Isaiah, 1-39 by
Brueggemann, Walter. Isaiah. Westminster John Knox Press, 1998. eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost), Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780664255244Publication Date: 1998-10-01
Isaiah 1-39 by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Blenkinsopp, Joseph. Isaiah 1–39: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 2000. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 19. Theology and Religion Online, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300139617Publication Date: 2000-12-05
Isaiah 40-55 by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Blenkinsopp, Joseph. Isaiah 40–55: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 2002. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 19A. Theology and Religion Online, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300140545Publication Date: 2002-04-16
Isaiah 56-66 by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Blenkinsopp, Joseph. Isaiah 56–66: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 2003. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 19B. Theology and Religion Online, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300139624Publication Date: 2003-04-15
Jeremiah 1-29 by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Bracke, John M. Jeremiah 1-29. Westminster John Knox Press, 2000. eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost), Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780664255824Publication Date: 1999-11-01
Jeremiah 30-52 and Lamentations by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Bracke, John M. Jeremiah 30-52 and Lamentations. Westminster John Knox Press, 2000. eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost), Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780664255831Publication Date: 1999-11-01
Jeremiah 1-20 by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Lundbom, Jack R. Jeremiah 1–20: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 1999. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 21A. Theology and Religion Online, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300139631Publication Date: 1999-09-01
Jeremiah 21-36 by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Lundbom, Jack R. Jeremiah 21–36: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 2004. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 21B. Theology and Religion Online, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300139648Publication Date: 2004-04-23
Jeremiah 37-52 by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Lundbom, Jack R. Jeremiah 37–52: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 2004. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 21C. Theology and Religion Online, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300139655Publication Date: 2004-11-09
Ezekiel 1-20 by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Greenberg, Moshe. Ezekiel 1–20: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 1983. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 22. Theology and Religion Online, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300139662Publication Date: 1983-03-01
Ezekiel 21-37 by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Greenberg, Moshe. Ezekiel 21–37: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 1997. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 22A. Theology and Religion Online, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300139679Publication Date: 1995-03-01
Ezekiel 38-48 by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Cook, Stephen L. Ezekiel 38–48: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 2018. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 22B. Theology and Religion Online, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300218817Publication Date: 2018-11-27
The Book of Daniel by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
rtman, Louis F., and Alexander A. Di Lella. The Book of Daniel: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 1978. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries. Theology and Religion Online, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300139686Publication Date: 2005-03-07
Daniel: A Commentary on the Book of Daniel by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Collins, John J. Daniel: A Commentary on the Book of Daniel. 1517 Media, Fortress Press, 1993. JSTOR, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9781506421124Publication Date: 1994-02-01
Daniel, Esther, and Jeremiah by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Moore, Carey A. Daniel, Esther and Jeremiah: The Additions: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 1977. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 44. Theology and Religion Online, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300140002Publication Date: 1995-03-01
Ebooks: Minor Prophets (available in the Monroe Library)
Lamentations by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Hillers, Delbert R. Lamentations: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 1972. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 7A. Theology and Religion Online. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300139471Publication Date: 1972-03-07
Hosea by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Andersen, Francis I., and David Noel Freedman. Hosea: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 1980. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 24. Theology and Religion Online. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300139693Publication Date: 1996-10-07
Joel by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Crenshaw, James L. Joel: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 1995. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 24C. Theology and Religion Online. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300140767Publication Date: 1995-09-01
Amos by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Eidevall, Göran. Amos: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 2017. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 24G. Theology and Religion Online. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300178784Publication Date: 2017-10-24
Obadiah by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Raabe, Paul R. Obadiah: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 1996. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 24D. Theology and Religion Online. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300139716Publication Date: 1996-09-01
Jonah by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Sasson, Jack M. Jonah: A New Translation with Introduction, Commentary, and Interpretation. Yale UP, 1974. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 24B. Theology and Religion Online. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300139709Publication Date: 1995-03-01
Micah by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Andersen, Francis I., and David Noel Freedman. Micah: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 2000. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 24E. Theology and Religion Online. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300139723Publication Date: 2006-09-19
Nahum by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Christensen, Duane L. Nahum: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 2009. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 24F. Theology and Religion Online. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300144796Publication Date: 2009-10-20
Habakkuk by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Andersen, Francis I. Habakkuk: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 2001. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 25. Theology and Religion Online. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300139730Publication Date: 2001-08-14
Zephaniah by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Berlin, Adele. Zephaniah: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 1972. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 25A. Theology and Religion Online, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300140804Publication Date: 1994-09-01
Haggai, Zechariah 1-8 by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Meyers, Carol L. Haggai, Zechariah 1-8: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 1987. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 25B. Theology and Religion Online, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300139754Publication Date: 2004-01-07
Malachi by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Hill, Andrew E. Malachi: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Yale UP, 1998. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 25D. Theology and Religion Online, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780300139778Publication Date: 1998-04-14
Websites
- “Biblical Exegesis: An Introductory Overview” by Felix Just, S.J.
This web page contains a chart on the questions to be asked in doing an exegesis. - Catholic Resources for Bible, Liturgy, Art, and Theology
Especially helpful is the part of the web site called E.N.T.E.R. (Electronic New Testament Educational Resources), containing information, study tools, and links to further information about the Bible (Old Testament and New Testament), including Church documents on the Bible. - Bible Odyssey
Managed by the Society of Biblical Literature (SBL), the oldest and largest academic society devoted to the critical investigation of the Bible, Bible Odyssey is a media-rich website that includes articles, videos, timelines, maps, Bible translations, and even games. With contributions from SBL members worldwide, Bible Odyssey reflects a range of academic research and interests from around the globe presented in an accessible format.
Biblical Translations
- The Bible GatewayCompare the NAB translation with the following translations on this website: the Contemporary English Version, English Standard Version, Good News Translation, New American Standard Bible, 2011 New International Version, and the New King James Version. (You may also want to compare the original King James Version because it is so well-known and influential.) CAUTION: DO NOT USE any of the commentaries or other “Bible Study” tools on this website as they are out of date or differ in approach.
Biblical Commentaries
Individual volumes from these resources are linked under the section of the Old Testament to which the book belongs.
- Anchor Yale Bible CommentariesAnchor Yale Bible Commentaries span over 86 volumes and is one of the most trusted and long-running scholarly commentaries series for Biblical Studies scholars. This prestigious commentary series represents the pinnacle of biblical scholarship. Draws from the wisdom and resources of Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish scholars from around the world.
Includes a book-by-book translation and exegesis of the Hebrew Bible, the New Testament, and the Apocrypha to make available all the significant historical and linguistic knowledge which bears on the interpretation of the Bible. - New Interpreters Bible CD-ROM Table of Contents 2-12You may request that the Library send you copies of text from this resource. Instructions for how to do so precede the table of contents in the attached file.
Relevant Databases
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (ATLAS)Find scholarly and non-scholarly journal and magazine articles on religion.
- JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
- Religion and Philosophy CollectionThis database provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, as far back as 1975 to present.
Catalog
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.