Related Guides
- Music Industry Studies Research GuideContains resources (databases, etc.) related to research for Music Industry Studies.
Handouts for Marketing Databases
- Intro to MRI+ (MediaMark Online)This PDF, created by Deborah Poole, provides an introduction to MRI+ (MediaMark Online).
- How to Read a Mediamark ReportThis handout, created by Deborah Poole, shows how to read a report from Mediamark.
Library Catalogs
Browse the shelves:
HD30.28: Business/ strategic planning (3rd floor)
ML3790-3792: Music trade (1st floor)
ML3795: Music as a profession. Vocational guidance (1st floor)
- Online catalogThe library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- WorldCatCatalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
Technology Assistance
- Lynda.com accessDetailed instructions on how to access Lynda.com with a New Orleans Public Library account
Company and Industry Information
Use these databases to look up information on specific companies or industries. You can find info on company size, revenue, and more.
- Business Source CompleteClick "Company Information" at the top of the screen to search for a specific company. Use the advanced search features below to narrow down your search or to search for a specific product without knowing the company's name. Click "More" and then "Company Profiles" to view DataMonitor and LifeStyle Analytics reports.
Also use the advanced search and limit "Publication Type" to "Industry Profile" for reports on industry trends. Help with this database. - PollStar ProNews, columns, charts, boxoffice, tour & concert bookings, and more information on the music industry. Login by reference librarian required. Please come to the front desk for assistance with electronic version, or find the print version in music current periodicals section on the library first floor. Varies, archives from 2000.
- U.S. Securities and Exchange CommissionFree access to more than 20 million public company filings.
Marketing and Demographics
Use these databases to research the markets you're interested in. Find information about customer purchasing habits, lifestyles (psychographics), and locations. See the PDFs on the left for info on finding and interpreting data from MRI+.
Legal Databases
Use these databases to find info on legal contracts, intellectual property rights, copyright, etc.
- FindLawFindLaw offers links to legal, business and consumer resources. Find case law, Supreme Court decisions and links to legal associations.
- Index to Legal Periodicals & BooksArticles on law from law journals and reviews and other sources. Indexing 1981 to present, full text access to some items published after 1995.
Music Databases
Use these databases for help with branding strategies or to look up other artists.
- PollStar ProNews, columns, charts, boxoffice, tour & concert bookings, and more information on the music industry. Login by reference librarian required. Please come to the front desk for assistance with electronic version. Dates vary, archives from 2000.
Subject Guide
Laurie Phillips
Contact:
504-864-7833
Subjects: Course Guides, LIM, Ministry, Music, Music Education, Music Industry Studies, Music Therapy, Musical Theatre