LibGuides: LIM: Hispanic Ministry Focus Area: Ebooks

Recommended Texts

The texts listed below have been chosen by the course's Instructor of Record as significant and appropriate sources that could possibly be used in completing course assignments.

Culture and Ethnicity

Ethnic Identity: Formation and Transmission among Hispanics and Other Minorities edited by Martha Bernal and George P. Knight
more...less...
Full citation (but do italicize book's title and eBook Collection):

Doe, Jane. "Title of Chapter." Ethnic Identity: Formation and Transmission among Hispanics and Other Minorities. Edited by Martha Bernal and George P. Knight, State U of New York P, 1995, pp. a-b eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
Stories of Family, Traditions of Pride: Latino Folklore & Culture by José Limón and Ellyn Sanna
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and Book Collection Nonfiction):

Limón, José E., and Ellyn Sanna. Stories of Family, Traditions of Pride: Latino Folklore & Culture. Mason Crest, 2005. Book Collection Nonfiction. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
"Latino Culture" by Oralia Garza de Cortes
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Garza de Cortes, Oralia . "Latino Culture." Venture into Cultures: A Resource Book of Multicultural Materials and Programs. Edited by Olga R. Kuharets, American Library Assn., 2001, pp.61-72. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
Latinos in a Changing Society by Edwin Meléndez and Martha Montero-Sieburth
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Doe, Jane. "Title of Chapter." Latinos in a Changing Society. Edited by Edwin Meléndez and Martha Montero-Sieburth, Praeger, 2007, pp. a-b. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
Changing Race: Latinos, the Census, and the History of Ethnicity in the United States by Clara Rodriguez
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Rodriguez, Clara E. Changing Race: Latinos, the Census, and the History of Ethnicity in the United States. New York UP, 2000. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
Latino Chronology: Chronologies of the American Mosaic by D. H. Figueredo
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Figueredo, D. H. Latino Chronology: Chronologies of the American Mosaic. Greenwood, 2007. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
From Bomba to Hip-hop: Puerto Rican Culture and Latino Identity by Juan Flores
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Flores, Juan. From Bomba to Hip-hop: Puerto Rican Culture and Latino Identity. Columbia UP, 2000. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
Eagle on the Cactus: Traditional Tales from Mexico by Angel Vigil and Francisco Miraval
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Vigil, Angel, and Francisco Miraval. Eagle on the Cactus: Traditional Tales from Mexico. Libraries Unlimited, 2000. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
The Companion to Latin American Studies by Philip Swanson, ed.
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and Literati Database):

Doe, John. "Title of Article." The Companion to Latin American Studies. Edityed by Phlip Swanson, Arnold, 2003. Literati Database. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.

Youth

Making Invisible Latino Adolescents Visible by Martha Montero-Sieburth and Francisco Villaruel
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and SocINDEX):

Doe, Jane. "Title of Chapter." Making Invisible Latino Adolescents Visible. Edited by Martha Montero-Sieburth and Francisco Villaruel, Taylor & Francis, 2000, pp. a-b. SocINDEX. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans. Web. Date of access.
Latino Families Broken by Immigration: The Adolescent's Perceptions by Ceres Artico
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Artico, Ceres I. Latino Families Broken by Immigration: The Adolescent's Perceptions. LFB Scholarly Publishing, 2003. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
Understanding Latino Delinquency: The Applicability of Strain Theory by Ethnicity by Cynthia Perez McCluskey
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

McCluskey, Cynthia Perez. Understanding Latino Delinquency: The Applicability of Strain Theory by Ethnicity. New York: LFB Scholarly Publishing, 2002. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
Guns, Violence, and Identity among African American and Latino Youth by Deanna Lyn Wilkinson
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Wilkinson, Deanna Lyn. Guns, Violence, and Identity among African American and Latino Youth. N LFB Scholarly Publishing, 2003. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
Continua of Biliteracy: An Ecological Framework for Educational Policy, Research, and Practice in Multilingual Settings edited by Nancy H. Hornberger
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Doe, Jane. "Title of Chapter.". Continua of Biliteracy: An Ecological Framework for Educational Policy, Research, and Practice in Multilingual Settings.Edited by Nancy H Hornberger, Multilingual Matters, 2003, pp. a-b. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.

Health and Pastoral Care

The Latino Patient: A Cultural Guide for Health Care Providers by Nilda Chong
more...less...
Full citation (italicize book's title and eBook Collection):

Chong, Nilda. The Latino Patient: A Cultural Guide for Health Care Providers. Intercultural, 2002. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
In Living Color: An Intercultural Approach to Pastoral Care and Counseling by Emmanuel Lartey
more...less...
Full citation (italicize book's title and eBook Collection):

Lartey, Emmanuel. In Living Color: An Intercultural Approach to Pastoral Care and Counseling. Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2003. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.

Faith and Spirituality

People of Faith & Vision: The Latino Religious Experience by José E. Limón and Kenneth McIntosh
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Limón, José E., and Kenneth McIntosh. People of Faith & Vision: The Latino Religious Experience. Mason Crest, 2005. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
Globalizing the Sacred: Religion across the Americas by Manuel A. Vásquez
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and eBook Collection):

Vásquez, Manuel A. Globalizing the Sacred: Religion across the Americas. Rutgers UP, 2003. eBook Collection. Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.

Reference Books

Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and Credo Reference):

"Title of Entry." Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2011. Credo Reference. Monroe Lib., Loyola U New Orleans. Web. Date of access.
The Blackwell Companion to Catholicism by James Buckley
more...less...
Full citation (italicize title and Wiley Online Library):

Buckley, James Joseph. The Blackwell Companion to Catholicism. Malden: Blackwell, 2007. Wiley Online Library. Monroe Lib., Loyola U New Orleans. Web. Date of access.

MLA Citation of Ebooks

MLA Citation Style for Ebooks

To learn how to cite ebooks both parenthetically in your paper and on your Works Cited page, read the PDF file here. You may also refer to the LIM Guide to Written Theological Reflection found in Canvas and the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.

Get Help

Handouts and Tutorials
A wide variety of handouts and video tutorials about general research, subject specific research, and technology help are available you in the Get Help section of the library's website; click this link to browse them.
Email the Monroe Library
You may email the Outreach Librarians; when emailing, be sure to indicate that you are a LIM onsite (extension) or online student.

PDF Documents

Encuentro and Mission by the U.S. Catholic Bishops