Frequently Used
- Online catalogThe library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology. 1991 to present.
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).
Resources
Citation metrics, bibliometrics and altmetrics all attempt to determine the importance or impact of formal and informal publications in the scholarly world. This field is exploding right now, and there many resources, free and fee-based. This list will include those to which we subscribe or are free to use. We do not have Journal Impact Reports (JIR).
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- Annual ReviewsFull text of review articles in the sciences and social sciences. We have many, but not all years of all titles.
- arXivOpen access to nearly one million mostly unreviewed pre-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
- bioRxivA free online archive and distribution service for mostly unreviewed, unpublished preprints in the life sciences operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
- MedlineContains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material. 1966 to present.
- NatureSearch and browse for articles in this scientific journal from its beginning to the present day, 1869 to present.
Our databases with cited reference searching
- Abstracts in Social GerontologySearch for content in the field of gerontology and geriatrics, covering psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas in geriatric studies back to the mid-1970s.
Here are all the databases to which we subscribe that allow cited reference searching. Updated November 18, 2015.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- AgricolaSearch for journal articles and books in botany, plant science, agriculture, and related areas. Late 1700s to present.
- Alt HealthWatchLists articles on non-traditional medical theories and therapies, such as complementary, holistic and integrated approaches. 1990 to present.
- America: History & Life with Full TextCitations to articles, books, and dissertations on U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers publications from 1964 to present. Full text for over 1300 titles.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteFull text and indexing for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and more. Also includes author profiles. Dates of coverage vary, 1915-present.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full TextProvides coverage of major English-language criminology journals and books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. A summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided. Covers 1968 to present.
- GreenFILELocate general interest, research, and government publications about human impact on the environment. Early 1900s to present.
- Hospitality & Tourism IndexIndustry and scholarly articles on the tourism and hospitality industries from more than 500 journals and magazines. Dates vary, some as far back as 1950 to present.
- Human Resources AbstractsLocate articles on human resources management, employee assistance, organizational behavior and other areas from 1975 to the present.
- Peace Research AbstractsPeace Research Abstracts lists articles related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of relevance to the field dating back to 1964.
- PsycARTICLESFull text articles in psychology. PsycARTICLES includes more than 39,000 full-text articles from 53 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO. 1985 to present.
- PsycINFOCitations and abstracts for articles, book chapters, books and dissertations on psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Includes some non-English language material. Covers 1887 to present for articles; 1987 to present for books. APA help.
- Violence & Abuse AbstractsLists articles on family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline from 1995 to the present.
