Select Multimedia
- 1313 Hoodoo street, Bo Dillis (CD)CD POPLR 00191
- All on a Mardi Gras dayDVD-001085
- Bury the hatchet (DVD)DVD-002866
- Guardians of the flame: New Orleans Mardi Gras Indians (VHS)MV-002337 (Learning Commons Desk, 1st Floor)
- Life is a carnival, Wild Magnolias (CD)CD POPLR 00221
- The black Indians of New OrleansDVD-002850
- They call us wild, Wild Magnolias (CD)CD POPLR 00146
- Tootie's last suit (DVD)DVD-001366
Special Collections & Archives
Located on the third floor of the Monroe Library, Special Collections and Archives preserves materials related to the history of Louisiana and the South, the Society of Jesus, and Loyola University New Orleans. Materials must be used in the Reading Room. Please contact archives@loyno.edu for more information or to schedule an appointment.
Search the Catalog
Museums
- Backstreet Cultural MuseumLocated at 1116 Henriette Delille St. in the Treme neighborhood of New Orleans, the Backstreet Cultural Museum curates objects relating to the African American culture of New Orleans with a special emphasis on jazz funerals, Mardi Gras Indians, and Social Aid and Pleasure Clubs.
- House of Dance & FeathersHouse of Dance & Feathers is a cultural museum based on Ronald W. Lewis' participation in the culture of Mardi Gras Indians, Social Aid & Pleasure Clubs and Skull & Bone Gangs. Located at 1317 Tupelo Street in the Lower Ninth Ward neighborhood of New Orleans.
Select Articles
Select Books
Big Chief Harrison and the Mardi Gras Indians by Call Number: F379 .N553 H37 2010ISBN: 9781589806962Publication Date: 2010-02-17
He's the Prettiest by Call Number: GT4211 .N4 S25 1997 (Special Collections, 3rd Floor)ISBN: 0894940589Publication Date: 1997-07-01
House of Dance and Feathers by Call Number: GT4210 .L8 L49 2009 (Special Collections, 3rd Floor)ISBN: 0970619073Publication Date: 2009-06-16
Signifying Serpents and Mardi Gras Runners by Call Number: F216.2 .S49 2003ISBN: 082032471XPublication Date: 2003-03-26
Southern Heritage on Display by Call Number: F216.2 .S617 2003ISBN: 0817312277Publication Date: 2003-01-22- The Mardi Gras Indians : the ethnomusicology of black associations in New Orleans byCall Number: ML3556 .D72 1973A (Special Collections, 3rd Floor)Publication Date: 1973
