Databases and Resources
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextProvides citations to most English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from allied health disciplines. Also covers consumer health, health sciences librarianship, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. Covers 1982 to present.
- PubMed with Full Text FinderPubMed, a free service of the National Library of Medicine, with 11 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals in anatomy, nursing, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, health care and more. Includes some non-English language material. Note: PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. 1966 to present.
- Ovid Nursing JournalsSearch or browse sixty-one full-text nursing journals. Full Text Finder finds all of these in CINAHL, etc. Up-to-date browsers required.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionFind articles on nursing, nutrition, and other medical topics in almost 850 magazines and journals, with full text for nearly 600. Info on U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs Updated daily. Dates vary, some as far back as 1975 to present.
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is a free public service on medicine and drugs from the National Library of Medicine.
- MedlineContains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material. 1966 to present.
- MedicLatinaOver 100 Spanish-language medical journals.
- Science and Technology CollectionIndexes over 1,740 journals in science and technology, with full text for 830 leading journals.
- ScienceDirectRecent full-text articles from many Elsevier journals in science and the social sciences. Not all journals are available. If you browse, look for the small green icon for subscribed journals. 1995 to present.
- Cochrane LibraryAlso called "Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews." Browse or search for full-text reviews of treatment based on medical research. Also called evidence-based medicine. Current articles.
- Alt HealthWatchLists articles on non-traditional medical theories and therapies, such as complementary, holistic and integrated approaches. 1990 to present.
- Medline journal abbreviation decoderMedline/PubMed displays journal names in an abbreviated form. Search the abbreviation on this page to find the complete journal title. Note: This is not an index to journal articles.
- TOXNETLook for publications on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.
Medical Database Apps For Mobile Devices
 |
CINAHL: Search for articles across all EBSCOhost databases including CINAHL. Download the app in CINAHL by clicking the EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications link at the bottom of the page and enter your email address. Authenticate through email on your mobile device. Free for Loyola University New Orleans students |
 |
PUBMED ON TAP: Search for articles on a PubMed interface with PubMed on Tap. Download the app via the app store on your device. $2.99 |
 |
MEDSCAPE: Search for drugs and drug interaction references, diseases and conditions, procedures, anatomy and more. Download the app and register. Free |
 |
COCHRANE LIBRARY: Includes reviews and podcasts. Only available for apple devices and must be purchased from the itunes store. |