Overview
Below are some resources to help you with your assignments in this class. These include:
- Online Image Databases that can be used to search for digital images;
- Reference Resources for searching encyclopedia entries and other resources from art history and religious studies;
- Databases with Peer-Reviewed Journals with full-text articles (and some magazines and books);
- A few links for guidance and support on Citing Your Sources, an important skill to cultivate in your studies.
Online Image Databases
- ARTstorA digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide from prehistory to the 20th century. ARTstor how-to videos.
- Metropolitan Museum of ArtThe Met in New York City has a large digital collection of images that can be searched online. Some images may include object details and descriptions, information about provenance, and/or art historical information about the work(s).
- The J. Paul Getty MuseumThousands of images of artworks are available for download, without charge, under the Getty's Open Content Program.
Citing Your Sources
The Office of Writing and Learning Services (OWLS) on the second floor of the Monroe Library at Loyola University offers:
- The Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab)The Purdue OWL is a multi-purpose writing guide that includes clear instructions and examples showing correct formatting of both in-text citations and the bibliography. Styles covered include MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian.
Reference Resources
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryA collection of over 200 reference books (over 600 volumes) in all subject areas published 1990 to present.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the ArtsAn in-depth, comprehensive reference work that covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art / Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryThe Timeline presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met collection. It is a reference, research, and teaching tool conceived for students and scholars of art history. It is authored by The Met’s experts, and currently comprises more than 1,000 essays, close to 7,600 works of art, 300 chronologies, and 3,700 keywords. It is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.
Peer-Reviewed Journals
- Religion and Philosophy CollectionThis database provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, as far back as 1975 to present.
- Art & Architecture CompleteFind full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts. It covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
