Environmental Encyclopedia
Browse this encyclopedia for basic background info on possible topics. Reference materials are the best way to introduce yourself to a topic without diving into the deep end right away.
- Environmental EncyclopediaTwo-volume, full-text, non-technical encyclopedia of environmental issues, published 2011.
Discipline-Specific Databases
The databases below are ones we recommend for Environmental Studies. In them you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and others provide citations only. If an item is not included in our collection, you can request it through our interlibrary loan system, ILLiad. To find books on Environmental Studies, search the library's catalog.
- AgricolaSearch for journal articles and books in botany, plant science, agriculture, and related areas. Late 1700s to present.
- Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS)Search international biological science journals. Covers 1984 to 2009.
- GreenFILELocate general interest, research, and government publications about human impact on the environment. Early 1900s to present.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases cover a broad range of different disciplines, including the humanities, social sciences, and natural & applied sciences. Each one has unique features and interfaces. As you search, remember to look for ways to limit and focus your search to maximize the relevance of your results. Starting broad and filtering toward a more focused set of items may be helpful in many cases.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology. 1991 to present.
- JSTORFull-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We have Arts & Sciences I through XV, Life Sciences, and many others; click "more" below for a full list. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
