It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
Digitized drawings from the holdings of the Archives Nationales d'Outre-Mer (Aix-en-Provence, France) and Archives Canada-France (ACF) compiled by Vincas P. Steponaitis and made available by the Research Libraries of Archaeology.
Digitized materials from Loyola University New Orleans’ Special Collections and Archives are available in the LOUISiana Digital Library.
The LOUISiana Digital Library (LDL) is an online library of Louisiana institutions that provides over 144,000 digital materials. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from the Louisiana institution's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories in the state electronically accessible to Louisiana residents and to students, resear
This is an artificial collections of photographs sent to the City Archives over the years by various city agencies (including the Department of Streets, the Dept. of Utilities, the Office of the Mayor and the Public Relations Office) and by the Louisiana Department of Highways.
The Collins C. Diboll Vieux Carré Digital Survey is an electronic version of the Vieux Carré Survey, housed at The Historic New Orleans Collection since 1966. The survey is an extensive study of the properties within the French Quarter referencing essential historical, architectural, legal and sociological data on individual lots and structures from the French colonial period to the present.
New Orleans street numbers were converted to the present system in the early 1890s. Prior to that time there was no standardization to the numbering process. The original index was compiled by Gray B. Amos under the supervision of Mrs. E. D. Friedrichs, Custodian of the City Hall Archives. The project was carried out under the auspices of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) in 1938.
Originally created for the use of insurance companies, Robinson’s Atlas consists of 30 maps. The maps indicate existing lots, buildings, and geographic landmarks. The color pink represents brick buildings, and yellow signifies wooden structures. Printed street names are contemporaneous to publication; hand-written name changes were added at a later undetermined date. Street addresses predate the current system, adopted by New Orleans in the early 1890s.
New Orleans newspaper published from 1827 to 1925. It includes articles primarily French and English, with some Spanish. This site has two time sections: Sept. 1827 through Aug. 1881 and Sept. 1881 to Dec. 1923. No searching for text, only browsing by date.
New Orleans demographics, disaster recovery indicators, and actionable data visualization. Includes easy to use maps, high–demand downloadable spreadsheets and slideshows, video briefings, and objective analyses.
The website for the Louisiana Division of the New Orleans Public Library contains a wealth of information on the history of New Orleans. In addition to information on the city's Archive sand Special Collections, the site can be searched for historic photographs, genealogical information, and property research.
"The viewer displays information obtained or developed from received reports of criminal activity in Orleans parish. It shows reported criminal activity near stated addresses or other locations, such as schools. It shows the apparent violation, time period, and general location. It can produce related maps and reports. It is for personal informational purposes only."
Limited access to supermarkets, supercenters, grocery stores, or other sources of healthy and affordable food may make it harder for some Americans to eat a healthy diet. The Food Access Research Atlas presents a spatial overview of food access indicators for low-income and other census tracts using different measures of supermarket accessibility; provides food access data for populations within census tracts; and offers census-tract-level data on food access that can be downloaded for community planning or research purposes.
Web site that rates neighborhoods for "walkability."
Special Collections & Archives
Located on the third floor of the Monroe Library, Special Collections and Archives preserves materials related to the history of Louisiana and the South, the Society of Jesus, and Loyola University New Orleans. Materials must be used in the Reading Room. Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org more information or to schedule an appointment.