Skip to main content /* Submitted right after the opening tab */

Walker Percy Special Collections & Archives: Home

Guide to our Walker Percy collections, holdings, and relevant databases.

Patrick Samway S. J. Book Collection

The Patrick Samway S. J. Book Collection is a non-circulating special collection of books by and about writers from the Southern United States.

Click HERE to browse the books on or by Walker Percy from this collection.

Primary Sources

Walker Percy Archive Collections at Loyola University Special Collections & Archives

 

B. Raynal Ariatti Papers (PDF)

The B. Raynal Ariatti Papers consist primarily of several hundred negatives that may complement or duplicate photographic material included in the Louis J. Twomey, S.J., Papers (Collection #2) relating to Father Twomey, the Institute of Industrial Relations/Institute of Human Relations, and the Inter-American Center. The collection also contains a small amount of correspondence, pamphlets and papers involving Father Twomey’s Memorial Mass and the dedication of Twomey Hall, photographs that include the Papal visit to New Orleans in 1987, a single audio reel, and three 3.5” floppy disks.  

 

Walker Percy Check Collection (PDF)

This collection of cancelled personal checks originated from Walker Percy’s office at his home in Covington, LA and was donated by his daughter Ann Percy Moores. The collection consists of checks written by Percy and his wife Mary from 1956-1965 to various business and individuals.

 

New Orleans Review Collection (PDF)

Archives of the Loyola-based books and literature magazine from its inception in 1968 through 1980.

 

Walker Percy Papers (PDF)

This collection originated from Walker Percy’s office at his home in Covington and was donated by his daughter after the death of Mrs. Mary “Bunt” Percy. Handwritten notes, typescripts with marginalia, drafts of speeches and lectures, and correspondence and photocopies of correspondence make up majority of the collection. There are a number of collected articles and academic journals that contain pieces written about Percy as well as unpublished academic papers and theses about him and his writing. The range of the material in the collection focuses mainly on the latter half of Percy’s life.

 

Percy-Romagosa Collection (PDF)

Letters and photographs document the relationship between the novelist Walker Percy and New Orleans priest Elmo L. Romagosa.

 

Percy-Suhor Letters (PDF)

Charles Suhor was born in New Orleans in 1935. An educator, books and literature critic, musician, and amateur linguist, Suhor wrote a review of Walker Percy’s work, Love in the Ruins, which Carolyn Davis sent a copy of to Percy in 1971. Percy responded, after which Suhor initiated a correspondence with Percy in 1975.

 

Percy-Walsh Correspondence (PDF)

Letters from Walker Percy to New Orleanian and former Jesuit priest William Walsh regarding Percy's book Lancelot.

 

Patrick Samway, S.J. Papers (PDF)

Patrick Samway, S.J. is an ordained Jesuit priest, teacher and author. The Samway Papers include a wide range of correspondence and other material related to Father Samway's interest in and research on Southern literature, with a focus on his biography of Walker Percy. Father Samway corresponded with a number of writers, scholars, and members of the Percy family. Material regarding Samway’s humanitarian work in Haiti and Africa can also be found. The types of material in this collection include correspondence, monographs, essays, speeches, ephemera, photographic prints, negatives and audiocassettes. Father Samway has also donated a large collection of books by and about Southern authors that are housed in the Special Collections Room of the Monroe Library on Loyola's campus.

 

John Kennedy Toole Manuscript (PDF)

John Kennedy Toole’s posthumously published novel A Confederacy of Dunces won the Pulitzer Prize in 1981 after Toole’s mother appealed to author and then Loyola faculty member Walker Percy for help in getting it published. While there is no definitive “first manuscript” for the book, this manuscript was donated by Lyn Hill Hayward, a longtime friend of Walker Percy’s, and described by her as the manuscript given Percy by Thelma Toole.

 

Louis J. Twomey, S.J. Papers (PDF)

Documents the post-World War II social reform work of the founding director of Loyola's Institute of Human Relations. 
Go to Digital Exhibit

Databases

Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.

 

Biography in Context  

Locate full-text biographies from reference books, citations to magazine and journal articles, and selected web sites. Dates vary.

 

JSTOR   

Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I through X and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.

 

Literary Reference Center  

Research authors of literature and their works in scholarly journals, books, and encyclopedias. Includes literary criticism, plot summaries, author biographies, book reviews, full text poems, short stories, and classic novels.

 

Literature Resource Center    

Full text and citations to magazine and journal articles on authors, literature, literary movements, etc.

 

MLA International Bibliography  

The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of citations related to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in nearly 4,000 scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and other formats. Includes some non-English language material. 1926 to present.

 

Oxford Reference  

Search for entries in twelve Oxford University Press dictionaries and other reference books.

 

Project MUSE Standard  

Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title. Mostly 1993 to present. How-to videos.

 

Scribner Writers Series  

Provides articles on more than 1600 authors and literary genres drawn from the Scribner print series.

 

Twayne's Author Series  

Full text books on literary authors, browsable by author name, genre, gender, time period and nationality.

Give Now