Last Updated: Oct 1, 2015
- APA Citations from OWL at Purdue
Guide to creating APA citations from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue
- Metadata Search
Search CrossRef's database of 68 million records for authors, titles, DOIs, ORCIDs, ISSNs, FundRefs, license URIs, etc. You can even paste entire references into the search box and discover their DOIs.
- Resolve a DOI Name
Type or paste a DOI name into the text box. Click Go. Your browser will take you to a Web page (URL) associated with that DOI name.
The library has purchased several testing instruments for use by Counseling faculty and students only. These instruments are either on reserve by professor or otherwise kept behind the Learning Commons desk.
DVDs may be found shelved on the first floor floor of the library. VHS tapes are available upon request from the Learning Commons desk.
Academic Search Complete is a general database and is a source for popular and scholarly articles on current topics. PsycInfo covers materials related to psychology and counseling, such as journal articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations. For bibliographic information from a health sciences perspective, see Medline. For information related to education, see ERIC.
- Academic Search Complete
Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
Citations and abstracts for articles, book chapters, books and dissertations on psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Includes some non-English language material. Covers 1887 to present for articles; 1987 to present for books. APA help.
Contains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material. 1966 to present.
Contains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material.
Journal and magazine articles, dissertations and theses, and other documents about education. Some non-English material. Covers 1966 to present.
PsycArticles and Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection are sources of peer-reviewed, full-text scholarly articles in psychology, counseling, and related social sciences. For information on tests, see Mental Measurements Yearbook.
Full text articles in psychology. PsycARTICLES includes more than 39,000 full-text articles from 53 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO. 1985 to present.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Search almost 575 professional psychology journals, most peer-reviewed. Nearly all are indexed in PsycINFO. Varies, some as early as 1965.
- Annual Reviews
Full text of outstanding review articles in the sciences and social sciences. We have Biochemistry; Cell and Developmental Biology; Ecology, Evolution, and Systemics; Entomology; Genetics; Immunology; Marine Science; Medicine; Microbiology; Neuroscience; Nutrition; Pharmacology and Toxicology; Physiology; Physical Chemistry; Phytopathology; Plant Biology; Psychology and Sociology. Full text for 1996 to present.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
Contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. This contains data from 1989 to present, beginning with Yearbook 9. Note: text of the actual test is not provided. 1989 to present.
Books on counseling are often located in the section for Applied Psychology: BF 636-637. Sometimes books on counseling are located in the section for Psychiatry: RC 435-569.5. The Springer e-books are included in our online catalog.
To borrow books owned by Tulane University's library, you can ask for a TULU card at the Monroe Library desk. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the library does not own.
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- Springer e-books
A collection of full-text science, mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, psychology, engineering, and technology electronic books published by Springer during 2006, 2007, and 2008. Look for the green book symbol for those we can use. Note: if you search 'Within All Content' you will encounter numerous books and journals that we do not receive.
- OCLC WorldCat
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
Try our new discovery system. It searches the content of many of our databases and the library catalog at one time. Use the limiters on the left (similar to Amazon.com) to narrow your results.
Chat with the AJCU consortium:
Chat with Backup Staff:
Our chat service is offline.
Please contact us at 504-864-7111 or at firstname.lastname@example.org