Related Guides
Exploring a Company's Website
Here are the types of documents you can find by browsing the site map of the example website we used in class:
- annual reports
- presentations for investors
- progress reports
- fact sheets
- supplier list
- press releases
- SEC filings
- investor/shareholder directory
- Wayback MachineThis is an archive of the web. You are able to type in a URL and look at historic "snapshots" of what that webpage looked like at selected dates in the past.
Handouts for Finding Company Information
- Company Profiles in Business Source CompleteHandout with step-by-step instructions
Government Information
- usa.govListing of government agencies. Online guide to government information and services.
- American FactFinderAmerican FactFinder from the U.S. Census Bureau provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
Databases
- Business Source CompleteFind articles about business in magazines, newspapers and journals, author profiles, and country economic reports. Coverage varies, as early as 1886 to present.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- JSTORFull-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We have Arts & Sciences I through XV, Life Sciences, and many others; click "more" below for a full list. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
examples of industry specific databases
- Hospitality & Tourism IndexIndustry and scholarly articles on the tourism and hospitality industries from more than 500 journals and magazines. Dates vary, some as far back as 1950 to present.
Local/Regional Business Information
- New Orleans AdvocateFull text of the daily New Orleans newspaper in image format from 2018 to present. More issues available in Access World News database.
- Times-Picayune [New Orleans] 1837-presentSearch across all available years of the New Orleans daily newspaper. Older in image and newer in plain text.
- Louisiana NewspapersThirty-six full-text newspapers from Louisiana. Dates vary, most start around 2006-2012.
- New Orleans CitybusinessNew Orleans Citybusiness is the business newspaper of Metropolitan New Orleans covering news on business, banking, technology, real estate, construction, law, retail, and development.
