Last Updated: Jan 17, 2014
- LOUISana Digital Library
The LOUISiana Digital Library (LDL) is an online library of materials from Louisiana institutions. The LDL contains photographs, maps, manuscript materials, books, oral histories, and more that document Louisiana's unique history and culture.
- Louisiana Division of the New Orleans Public Library
The website for the Louisiana Division of the New Orleans Public Library contains a wealth of information on the history of New Orleans. In addition to information on the city's Archive sand Special Collections, the site can be searched for historic photographs, genealogical information, and property research.
- Robinson’s Atlas of the City of New Orleans, Louisiana (1883)
Originally created for the use of insurance companies, Robinson’s Atlas consists of 30 maps. The maps indicate existing lots, buildings, and geographic landmarks. The color pink represents brick buildings, and yellow signifies wooden structures. Printed street names are contemporaneous to publication; hand-written name changes were added at a later undetermined date. Street addresses predate the current system, adopted by New Orleans in the early 1890s.
- The Vieux Carré Digital Survey
The Collins C. Diboll Vieux Carré Digital Survey is an electronic version of the Vieux Carré Survey, housed at The Historic New Orleans Collection since 1966. The survey is an extensive study of the properties within the French Quarter referencing essential historical, architectural, legal and sociological data on individual lots and structures from the French colonial period to the present.
- Academic Search Complete
Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- America's News
Search or browse for full text of newspapers from all 50 U.S. states and Puerto Rico. Also includes some non-newspaper sources. Dates vary, mostly 2000s.
- History Reference Center
Articles on history from over reference books, encyclopedias and other books, history magazines, historical documents, biographies, and historical photographs and maps. Dates of coverage vary.
Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I through X and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos
- LexisNexis Academic
A large database that provides access to full-text articles and documents that span a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Includes some non-English titles. Coverage generally begins in the mid-1980s.
- Project MUSE Standard
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title. Mostly 1993 to present. How-to videos
- World History Collection
A collection of magazines and journals on world history. Publication dates vary, some as early as 1964.
- America: History & Life with Full Text
Citations to articles, books, and dissertations on U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers publications from 1964 to present. Full text for over 1300 titles.
- MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of citations related to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in nearly 4,000 scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and other formats. Includes some non-English language material. 1926 to present.
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- OCLC WorldCat
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
- Afro-Louisiana History and Geneoalogy 1719-1820
Users of the Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy online search engine can locate individual slaves who lived in Louisiana between the years of 1718 and 1820 through this easy-to-use, free, public database. Find valuable historical data from over 100,000 descriptions of slaves found in documents in Louisiana between 1718 and 1821 by searching identifiers such as gender, racial designation, or plantation location. Users can even search the origin of the slaves brought to Louisiana in the 18th and 19th centuries to work the New World.
- Collins C. Diboll Vieux Carré Digital Survey
"...An extensive study of the [real estate] properties within the French Quarter referencing essential historical, architectural, legal and sociological data on individual lots and structures from the French colonial period to the present."
- Digital Sanborn Maps
Images of street maps from selected Louisiana cities, including New Orleans, from 1867 to 1970. Indexes by street name can be found on the New Orleans Public Library website here: http://nutrias.org/info/louinfo/sanbornindex/sanbornindex.htm.
- Digital Sanborn Maps Index
Indexes for the Sanborn maps by street name can be found on the New Orleans Public Library website.
Browsable and searchable full text and images of the magazine Harper's Weekly for 1857 to 1877.
- Louisiana Newspaper Access Program
Digital versions of Louisiana newspapers, as early as 1794 and as late as 1949.
- New Orleans Bee
New Orleans newspaper published from 1827 to 1925. It includes articles primarily French and English, with some Spanish. This site has two time sections: Sept. 1827 through Aug. 1881 and Sept. 1881 to Dec. 1923. No searching for text, only browsing by date.
- Times-Picayune [New Orleans] 1837-1988
Locate articles in the New Orleans Times-Picayune newspaper by word or date for 1837 through 1988.
- Jazz Music Library
Over 60,000 streaming classic, contemporary, Latin and popular jazz recordings. Liner notes in PDF. Recordings issued 1923 to 2008.
Chat with the AJCU consortium:
Chat with Backup Staff:
Our chat service is offline.
Please contact us at 504-864-7111 or at email@example.com