Last Updated: Jan 4, 2013
To learn how to cite sources from databases both parenthetically in your paper and on your Works Cited page, please refer to the Purdue OWL. Here you will find information about how to use APA (American Psychological Association) citations.
Also, try RefWorks to help manage your citations.
Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request books from other libraries. Before requesting an interlibrary loan, check to see if the Monroe Library can purchase the material you need more quickly. To request articles through interlibrary loan, use the Get It! button from a citation in a library database.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Provides citations to most English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from allied health disciplines. Also covers consumer health, health sciences librarianship, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. Covers 1982 to present.
MedlinePlus is a free public service on medicine and drugs from the National Library of Medicine.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Find articles on nursing, nutrition, and other medical topics in almost 850 magazines and journals, with full text for nearly 600. Also a database of all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs Updated daily. >Dates vary, some as far back as 1975 to present.
- Cochrane Library
Also called "Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews." Browse or search for full-text reviews of treatment based on medical research. Also called evidence-based medicine. Current articles.
- Medline journal abbreviation decoder
Medline/PubMed displays journal names in an abbreviated form. Search the abbreviation on this page to find the complete journal title. Note: This is not an index to journal articles.
- Ovid Nursing Journals
Search or browse sixty-one full-text nursing journals. Get It! finds all of these in CINAHL, etc.
- Alt HealthWatch
Lists articles on non-traditional medical theories and therapies, such as complementary, holistic and integrated approaches. 1990 to present.
Over 100 Spanish-language medical journals.
- Lexi-Pals is now AHFS Consumer Medication Information
Patient Advisory Leaflets on a variety of medications and natural products. Also Spanish versions.
- Science and Technology Collection
Indexes over 1,740 journals in science and technology, with full text for 830 leading journals.
Recent full-text articles from many Elsevier journals in science and the social sciences. Not all journals are available. If you browse, look for the small green icon for subscribed journals. 1995 to present.
Look for publications on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.
Contains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material. 1966 to present.
Clinical decision support system for nurses, physicians and other health care personnel.
- Oxford Reference Online - Medicine
Reference books on medicine, nursing, nutrition, dentistry, drugs, plastic surgery, sports medicine and public health.
To borrow books owned by Tulane Univeristy's library, you can ask for a TULU card at the Monroe Library desk. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the Monroe library does not own.
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles.
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Includes considerable non-English language material.
Monroe Library Room 102
Campus Box 198
6363 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70118
phone: (504) 864-7136Send Email