Subject Guide
Related Guides
APA Citation of Databases
To learn how to cite sources from databases and print or web resources both parenthetically in your paper and on your Works Cited page, please refer to the Purdue OWL. Here you will find information about how to use APA (American Psychological Association) citations.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Help
- HelpBrief videos.
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).
Finding Full-Text Articles
To locate a specific nursing journal or an article with full bibliographic information, use ouf Journal Finder. Always search with the name of the journal.
When searching for a specific article, browse for it by volume and issue number.
To see all of our journals that pertain to Medicine, Nursing, and the Health Sciences select the Nursing and Allied Health journal list.
Databases and Resources
The databases below are ones we recommend for the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) program. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full-text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get It! button to see if the full-text is available through another library resource. To find electronic books, search the library's e-book collection through the catalog.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionUse Health Source to find articles on nursing, nutrition, and other medical topics in almost 850 magazines and journals, with full-text for nearly 600 journals. This is also a database of all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products, and new drugs. Coverage: Updated daily. Dates vary, some as far back as 1975-present.
- Ovid Nursing JournalsSearch or browse fifty-nine full-text Nursing journals.
- Cochrane LibrarySearch the Cochrane Library for full-text reviews of treatment based on medical research. Also called evidence-based practice medicine. Current articles.
- MedlineMedline contains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. Coverage: 1966-present.
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is a free public service on medicine and drugs from the National Library of Medicine.
- Medline journal abbreviation decoderMedline displays journal names in their abbreviated format. Search the abbreviation on this page to find the complete journal title. Note: This is NOT an index to journal articles.
- Alt HealthWatchAlt HealthWatch lists articles on non-traditional medical theories and thearpies, such as complementary, holistic, and other integrated approaches. Coverage: 1990-present.
- MedicLatinaOver 100 Spanish-language medical journals.
- Science and Technology CollectionIndexes over 1,740 journals in science and technology, with full-text for 830 leading journals.
- ScienceDirectSearch the Health Sciences collections. Not all journals are available. If you browse, look for the small green icon that indicates journals to which we subscribe. Coverage: 1995-present.
- TOXNETLook for publications on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.
Catalogs
If you can't find what you're looking for in our online catalog, you can borrow books owned by other Louisiana libraries. Please inquire about obtaining a LALINC card at the Monroe Library Learning Commons desk or call us at (504) 864-7111. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the Monroe Library does not own. If you're outside of New Orleans, click here for information on how to obtain materials from the Monroe Library.
- WorldCat
WorldCat is a catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. WorldCat does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.