It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To learn how to cite sources from databases and print or web resources both parenthetically in your paper and on your Works Cited page, please refer to the Purdue OWL. Here you will find information about how to use APA (American Psychological Association) citations.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request books and articles from other libraries. Before requesting an interlibrary loan, check to see if the Monroe Library can purchase the material you need more quickly. To request articles through interlibrary loan, use the Get It! button from a citation in a library database. For information about how your materials will arrive, check out our Distance Learning Services page.
CINAHL provides citations to most English-language Nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from allied health disciplines. CINAHL also covers consumer health, chiropractic litearture, and health services administration literature. Coverage: 1982-present. TIP: To find articles written by nurses, click on the advanced search option and check the "Any Author is Nurse" box.
The databases below are ones we recommend for the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) program. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full-text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get It! button to see if the full-text is available through another library resource. To find electronic books, search the library's e-book collection through the catalog.
Use Health Source to find articles on nursing, nutrition, and other medical topics in almost 850 magazines and journals, with full-text for nearly 600 journals. This is also a database of all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products, and new drugs. Coverage: Updated daily. Dates vary, some as far back as 1975-present.
Medline contains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. Coverage: 1966-present.
To do a search for Nursing e-books, try a quick search! To look for books about Nursing, try a quick search in the catalog.
If you can't find what you're looking for in our online catalog, you can borrow books owned by other Louisiana libraries. Please inquire about obtaining a LALINC card at the Monroe Library Learning Commons desk or call us at (504) 864-7111. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the Monroe Library does not own. If you're outside of New Orleans, click here for information on how to obtain materials from the Monroe Library.
WorldCat is a catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. WorldCat does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.