Last Updated: Jan 10, 2012
- Law Library Online Resources
IntelliConnect, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, HeinOnline, ALI Collection, CIS Congressional Universe, Chicago Manual of Style Online, Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, and Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law. Some resources are available only from the Loyola University New Orleans College of Law campus.
- Law Library Quick Links
Library catalogs, general resources, and HeinOnline links. Some resources are available only from the Loyola University New Orleans College of Law campus.
- Law Library Research Guides
In-depth guides for searching specific case types as well as finding cases by citation, federal statutes, and Louisiana statutes.
In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource.
- Academic Search Complete
Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Provides articles, conference proceedings, policy briefs, and books on international relations, mostly 1990s to present. Dates vary, mostly 1990s.
- Legal Collection
Search for articles in scholarly law journals. Years vary, as far back as 1965 to present.
- LexisNexis Academic
A large database that provides access to full-text articles and documents that span a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Includes some non-English titles. Coverage generally begins in the mid-1980s.
Thomas is a free service of the Library of Congress. Search Thomas to find legislative and congressional information. It includes bill text, the Congressional Record, committee information, votes, directories and other information. Current and historical information available.
GPO Access is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal government.
The official U.S. Government portal to 30 million pages of government information, services, and online transactions.
FindLaw offers links to legal, business and consumer resources. Find case law, Supreme Court decisions and links to legal associations.
Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I through X and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos
- Project MUSE Standard
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title. Mostly 1993 to present. How-to videos
Browse and search for articles in law reviews, criminal justice periodicals, the Federal Register, federal legislative history, presidential publications, US statutes, and Supreme Court decisions. (Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format.) Dates vary.
- Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law
English legal history beginning with 1066 C.E.
- Readers Guide Retrospective
Explore articles in the popular press (not scholarly journals), reflecting 20th century American culture, society, science, and politics. Covers 1890 to 1982.
- America: History & Life
Citations to articles, books, and dissertations on U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers publications from 1964 to present.
- Encyclopedia of Political Science
Search or browse the full text of a multi-volume, multi-authored encyclopedia. Prepared with the assistance of the American Political Science Association. Note: uses popups. Published 2011.
- Civil District Court (Orleans Parish)
Civil District Court of Orleans Parish index to legal documents, including real estate transfers. Students must obtain login information from your teacher. Teachers contact library.
To find books on Political Science and Law, search the library's catalog. You can also browse our shelves: J: Political Science.
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- OCLC WorldCat
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.