Last Updated: Jun 21, 2016
Use the library's newspaper databases to find reviews and articles about theatrical productions and performances.
Catalog of books, scores, recordings, videos, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
- Tulane University's online catalog
Undergraduates at Loyola can check out books, scores and CDs at Tulane's library with a TU/LU card.
- Interlibrary Loan
Use interlibrary loan to request books or scores from other libraries. Before requesting an interlibrary loan, check to see if the Monroe Library can purchase the material you need more quickly. To request articles through interlibrary loan, use the Get It button from a citation in a library database.
- Drama Online
Play scripts and writing about drama from Aeschylus to the present day.
- Performing Arts Database
Formerly: International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (IIPA FT). Locate articles on the performing arts: drama, theater, dance, film, and television from over 250 magazines and journals. Covers 1998 to present.
- Cambridge Companions Online
Collection of basic e-books in literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music. Browse and search titles 1991 to present from Cambridge University Press.
- MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of citations related to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in nearly 4,000 scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and other formats. Includes some non-English language material. 1926 to present.
Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I through X and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos
- Project MUSE Standard
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title. Mostly 1993 to present. How-to videos
- Academic Search Complete
Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- Twayne's Author Series
Full text books on literary authors, browsable by author name, genre, gender, time period and nationality.
- Année Philologique
Database for Classical Studies. Theatre students, this database could be helpful if you are doing research on Greek or Roman plays or playwrights.
- Scribner Writers Series
Provides articles on more than 1600 authors and literary genres drawn from the Scribner print series.
- Literature Resource Center
Full text and citations to magazine and journal articles on authors, literature, literary movements, etc.
- Literary Reference Center
Research authors of literature and their works in scholarly journals, books, and encyclopedias. Includes literary criticism, plot summaries, author biographies, book reviews, full text poems, short stories, and classic novels.
- Music Database
Formerly International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMP FT). Indexes more than 370 international music periodicals from over 20 countries. IIMP also includes retrospective coverage from over 185 periodicals dating back as far as 1874. IIMP covers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. Includes indexing to non-English language publications. Note: Mac users: change PDF file names to remove the '.do' at the end to save.
- Monroe Library Online Catalog
Search by subject for books about playwrights or plays or historical time periods. Search by author or title for plays. To find a play in an anthology, search keyword by title. Remember that the title of the play may not be the title of the book. Check the catalog record tab for the play's title in the book's table of contents.
- Search for Scores in the Monroe Library
Use this link to look for music scores in the Monroe Library. Remember that if you are looking for a particular song, it could be in a score for the whole show or in an anthology. Search for the song title and, if you don't find the song, search for the show title.
- CDs to learn accents for acting
The library owns many CDs that will help you learn an accent for acting
- Search for music compact discs in the Monroe Library
Use this link to search for music compact discs in the Monroe Library. Just as with scores, a song could be on a compilation recording or in a recording of the whole show. Search for both to be sure.
- Request for Purchase
If there is a book, score or recording that the library does not own, use this link to request that we purchase it for the library. Or email your request to firstname.lastname@example.org
Chat with the AJCU consortium:
Chat with Backup Staff:
Our chat service is offline.
Please contact us at 504-864-7111 or at email@example.com