Skip to main content /* Submitted right after the opening tab */

Archival Resources for Women's Issues: Home

Special Collections and Archives resources for research of Women's Issues.

Loyola University Special Collections & Archives:

Catholic Daughters of the Americas, Court Mater Dei #868 Collection (PDF)

The Catholic Daughters of the Americas, Court Mater Dei #868 Collection consists primarily of newspaper clippings and photographs. These clippings and photographs were included in scrapbooks and photograph albums chronicling the history of the Court Mater Dei #868 branch of the Catholic Daughters of the Americas, an organization still active today with nearly 75,000 members and contributing to such charitable causes as Habitat for Humanity International.  

 

Janet Mary Riley Papers (PDF)

The Janet Mary Riley Papers reflect Riley’s academic career at Loyola University as the first female law professor in New Orleans, as well as her university service. Much is dedicated to her successful efforts to revise Louisiana’s community property laws to give women equal management of the community with their spouses.  

 

Louisiana Women Writers Symposium Collection (PDF)

The Louisiana Women Writers Symposium Collection primarily consists of correspondence and photographs relating to the organization of the symposium and the publication of essays presented during the event. The Louisiana Women Writers Symposium, co-sponsored by Loyola University and the Women’s Studies Consortium of Louisiana, was held on September 19-20, 1986 at Loyola University New Orleans. The conference was funded by the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities and co-directed by Dorothy H. Brown and Barbara C. Ewell, faculty members of the English department of City College, Loyola University.

 

The Phil Johnson Editorials (PDF)

The editorials in this collection were authored by Phil Johnson during his long career at WWL-TV and aired on the station as a regular nightly presentation from March, 1962 through July, 1999. The collection chronicles the 36-year political history of New Orleans and Louisiana from 1962-1999 and embarks, on occasion, upon topics relating to Women’s Issues. 

  • Alcoholism Among Women (5/30/89)
  • Christian Women's Exchange (10/20/80)
  • Council of Jewish Women (6/5/62, 9/10/62, 2/22/63, 2/20/84)
  • League of Women Voters (9/26/80, 10/4/88, 2/26/64)
  • National Council of Jewish Women (7/30/63, 4/27/83)
  • Woman Elected Lieutenant Governor (11/19/91)
  • Women and Car Repairs (10/1/85) 
  • Women Appointed to Cabinet (11/3/83)
  • Women Appointed (11/7/83)
  • Women in the US Army (2/4/91)
  • Women Top Political Poll (7/6/93)
  • Women's Educational Program (9/28/70)
  • Womnen's Soccer World Cup (7/12/99)
  • Women's Guild Opera Association (10/11/67)

 

University Archives

The University Archives is comprised of papers, audiovisual material, publications, photographs, and more documenting the history of Loyola University New Orleans, inlcuding manuscript materials and periodicals relating to Women’s Issues at Loyola University.

  • Accents Magazine (Incomplete run of 6, Fall 1989 - Winter 1993)
  • The Wandering Womb (Issues 1, 2, 3)
  • Women's Studies & the Women's Center Newsletter (Incomplete run of 6,       Spring 2000 - Fall 2004)

 

Special Collections Registrar & Archivist

Kure Croker's picture
Kure Croker
Contact:
Campus Box 198
6363 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70118
504-864-7849
Website / Blog Page
Give Now