Skip to Main Content
Learning Technologies Developer - Job Description
- Assist Faculty in the use of Blackboard, with an emphasis on:
- Structuring folders and links for ease of use
- Building links to content on other servers
- Includes Onstream, Library Collections, Library Databases, and outside websites
- Copying content from one course to another
- Understanding types of test questions, automated grading, and test options
- Processing submitted work through SafeAssign
- Setting up Discussion Board forums, Wikis, and other interactive activities
- Setting up course shells for committees and promotion review
- Resolve Blackboard problems and misunderstandings encountered by students, faculty, and other users.
- Monitor and respond to emails on Onlineed@loyno.edu
- Includes voice mails automatically posted to Onlineed from X 7168
- Includes escalation emails from 800-number BB Support
- Remove/cleanup old messages on X 7168
- Respond to other email and telephone requests from users.
- Proactively train and assist Blackboard users
- Act as liaison between Blackboard Users here and Blackboard Technical Support
- Act as liaison between Blackboard Users here and Loyola I.T. Support
- Rip, convert, and upload video and audio to the Onstream server
- Upload other content, such as PowerPoint presentations, to Onstream as needed
- Direct faculty to Media Services when they wish to record classroom lectures or activities
- Assist faculty in understanding the technical details that make course materials more accessible
- Monitor the LORA-to-Blackboard interface daily and correct as needed
- Work with department of Institutional Research each semester in support of the end-of-semester course evaluation process.
- Once or twice per calendar year, ensure that backup copies of all Blackboard courses are stored on campus
- Send hard drive to Blackboard with open support ticket
- Request full archive of all existing courses
- Consolidate the archived courses on the disk from Blackboard with archive folders on campus
- Add new archived courses to the consolidated folder
- Overlay existing courses in the consolidated folder with the copy on the disk from Blackboard, if the copy on the BB disk has a later modification date
- As needed, extract information from the Blackboard Advanced System Reporting (ASR) database.
- As needed by the Standing Committee for Online Education (SCOE):