Course Required Texts
- The Alexander Technique Workbook byCall Number: RA781.5 .B74 1992ISBN: 1852303468Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Journals
More Info
- Performer’s Health: Integrating Health Resources into the Music Library; presentation by Tina Huettenrauch, PhDPDF slides from Dr. Tina Huettenrauch's 2014 Southeastern Music Library Association presentation. Includes relevant resources and search strategies, particularly detailed instructions for searching PubMed using MeSH headings.
- Nutrition Tips for MusiciansNutrition Tips for Musicians presented by the University of Colorado Boulder’s Musicians’ Wellness Initiative and Registered Dietician Jane Reagan.
Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextProvides citations to most English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from allied health disciplines. Also covers consumer health, health sciences librarianship, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. Covers 1982 to present.
- MedlineMedline is the National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) journal citation database. Search by keyword or MeSH heading.
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is a free public service on medicine and drugs from the National Library of Medicine. It is written for a general public audience and uses patient-friendly vocabulary.
- PubMed with Full Text FinderPubMed, a free service of the National Library of Medicine, with 11 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals in anatomy, nursing, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, health care and more. Includes some non-English language material. Note: PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. 1966 to present.
- RILM Abstracts of Musical LiteratureProvides citations and abstracts to articles, dissertations and books on music. Includes some non-English language material. 1967 to present.
Search strategy: Music Subject (e.g. piano playing) and broader Medical Term (e.g. medicine or therapy) gives best results
Websites
- Association of Adult Musicians with Hearing Loss (AAMHL)Lists musicians with hearing loss and web resources related to music instruction for people with hearing loss, music-induced hearing loss, and more.
- Athletes and the ArtsAims to create opportunities for performing artists and sport athletes to access and benefit from the established research, training and education of the other discipline and provide access to resources that meet the unique wellness, healthcare and performance needs of performing artist.
- International Association for Music & Medicine (IAMM)Publishes the journal Music and Medicine and holds the international IAMM meeting every two years.
- Musician's DystoniaInformation from the Dystonia Society on Musician's dystonia (also known as Musician's cramp).
- Performing Arts Medicine Association (PAMA)Includes a bibliography of resources related to medical injuries in performers, a doctor finder/referral service, and lists of related websites.
- The Complete Guide to the Alexander TechniqueIncludes resources for Alexander Technique teachers and students, a guide to Interactive Alexander Technique Resources, and links to practitioner websites.
Subject Guide
Laurie Phillips
Contact:
504-864-7833
Subjects: Course Guides, LIM, Ministry, Music, Music Education, Music Industry Studies, Music Therapy, Musical Theatre