Also recommended
- PSYC A301 Introduction to ResearchFor all sections of Introduction to Research.
Other resources
Help
- HelpBrief videos.
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).
Databases
Academic Search Complete is a general database and a good source of articles on current topics in psychology and counseling. PsycINFO covers journal articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations, and contains some full-text. PsycARTICLES and Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection are excellent sources of peer-reviewed, full-text scholarly articles in psychology, counseling, and related social sciences. For information on tests, see Mental Measurements Yearbook, while SocINDEX with Full Text can provide useful information from a sociological perspective. For bibliographic information from a health sciences perspective, see MEDLINE.
- PsycINFOCitations and abstracts for articles, book chapters, books and dissertations on psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Includes some non-English language material. Covers 1887 to present for articles; 1987 to present for books. APA help.
- PsycARTICLESFull text articles in psychology. PsycARTICLES includes more than 39,000 full-text articles from 53 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO. 1985 to present.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences CollectionSearch almost 575 professional psychology journals, most peer-reviewed. Nearly all are indexed in PsycINFO. Varies, some as early as 1965.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- Mental Measurements YearbookContains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. This contains data from 1989 to present, beginning with Yearbook 9. Note: text of the actual test is not provided. 1989 to present.
- MedlineContains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material. 1966 to present.
- PubMedContains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. Includes some non-English language material. Same material as MEDLINE.
- JSTORFull-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We have Arts & Sciences I through XV, Life Sciences, and many others; click "more" below for a full list. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
- ERICJournal and magazine articles, dissertations and theses, and other documents about education. Some non-English material. Covers 1966 to present.
- SocINDEX with Full TextComprehensive index to sociology, covering 640 core journals, 530 priority, and 1420 selectively-covered journals with many books, conference papers and author profiles. Varies, some as early as 1895.
- Annual ReviewsFull text of review articles in the sciences and social sciences. We have many, but not all years of all titles.
- Springer e-booksA collection of full-text science, mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, psychology, engineering, and technology electronic books published by Springer during 2006 through 2009. Look for the green book symbol for those we can use. Note: if you search 'Within All Content' you will encounter numerous books and journals that we do not receive.
- Abstracts in Social GerontologySearch for content in the field of gerontology and geriatrics, covering psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas in geriatric studies back to the mid-1970s.
- Family Studies AbstractsThis database covers publications related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy and other related topics starting in the mid-1980s.
- Race Relations AbstractsThis resource provides a sole focus on content relating specifically to the relationship between races. Specific areas covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas. 1975 to present.
- Violence & Abuse AbstractsLists articles on family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline from 1995 to the present.
