LibGuides: Languages & Cultures: Home

Related Guides

OCLC WorldCat
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
Help with this database.
Library of Congress Catalog
The online catalog of the Library of Congress, listing millions of books, past and present.

Tulane's Howard-Tilton Catalog
Loyola and Tulane have a reciprocal borrowing agreement that allows the students, staff, and faculty of each institution to check out books from the other's library. To see if Tulane has a book that is not currently in our catalog, click here to search the Howard-Tilton's catalog. Be sure to change the search function from "Multiple Sources" to "Books."
more...less...
Stop by the Learning Commons desk at Loyola's Monroe Library and show your Loyola ID to get a TULU card. This card will allow you to borrow books from Tulane for the semester during which you are issued the card.

Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).

Academic Search Complete
Find articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
Help with this database.
Cambridge Companions Online
Collection of basic e-books in literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music. Browse and search titles 1991 to present from Cambridge University Press.
Help with this database.
JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We have Arts & Sciences I through XV, Life Sciences, and many others; click "more" below for a full list. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
Help with this database.
We subscribe to the following JSTOR databases:
19th Century British Pamphlets
Arts & Sciences I-XV
Business IV
Global Plants
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Life Sciences
Lives of Literature
Primary Source Collections
Public Health Journals
Security Studies
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Sustainability
Thematic Collections
World Heritage Sites: Africa
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of citations related to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in nearly 4,000 scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and other formats. Includes some non-English language material. 1926 to present.
EBSCO support

Online Image Collections
On this research guide, we have pulled together a list of many image collections available at museums, libraries, and other institutions around the world.

Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.

Oxford Reference Online
Search for entries in 14 Oxford University Press dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Help with this database.

Word Reference
This free online foreign language dictionary includes English to French, German, Spanish, Chinese, Arabic, and Japanese translations.

Email Me

Subjects: Classical Studies, French, Languages & Cultures, Latin American Studies

Need to type using diacritical accents? Just change your keyboard setting to International. For more help, see below.