Find Library Materials
- Search for DVDsTo find a specific title, select "browse" and "title."
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
Subject Guide
Typing Accents
Need to type using diacritical accents? Just change your keyboard setting to International. For more help, see below.
Dictionaries & Translation Services
- Oxford Reference OnlineSearch for entries in 14 Oxford University Press dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- Word ReferenceThis free online foreign language dictionary includes English to French, German, Spanish, Chinese, Arabic, and Japanese translations.
Resources
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
- MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of citations related to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in nearly 4,000 scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and other formats. Includes some non-English language material. 1926 to present.
- Online Image CollectionsOn this research guide, we have pulled together a list of many image collections available at museums, libraries, and other institutions around the world.
Other Library Catalogs
- OCLC WorldCatCatalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
- Library of Congress CatalogThe online catalog of the Library of Congress, listing millions of books, past and present.
- Tulane's Howard-Tilton CatalogLoyola and Tulane have a reciprocal borrowing agreement that allows the students, staff, and faculty of each institution to check out books from the other's library. To see if Tulane has a book that is not currently in our catalog, click here to search the Howard-Tilton's catalog. Be sure to change the search function from "Multiple Sources" to "Books."