Subject Guide
William Ransom
They/them or he/him
Contact:
(504) 864-7846
Subjects: Chemistry, Computer Science, Criminal Justice, Education, Mathematics, Political Science, Sociology
Databases
The databases below are ones we recommend for Sociology. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on Sociology, search the library's catalog.
- SocINDEX with Full TextComprehensive index to sociology, covering 640 core journals, 530 priority, and 1420 selectively-covered journals with many books, conference papers and author profiles. Varies, some as early as 1895.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- Encyclopedia of Activism and Social JusticeFull-text encyclopedia devoted to social activism published in 2007.
- JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
- ERICJournal and magazine articles, dissertations and theses, and other documents about education. Some non-English material. Covers 1966 to present.
- U.S. Census BureauText, maps and statistical information on the U.S. population of people and businesses.
- American FactFinderU.S. Census Bureau source for population, housing, economic and geographic data and maps from the 2000 U.S. census of individuals.
- Readers Guide RetrospectiveExplore articles in the popular press (not scholarly journals), reflecting 20th century American culture, society, science, and politics. Covers 1890 to 1982.
- EconLitThe American Economic Association electronic database listing journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and full-text book reviews from the Journal of Economic Literature: 1969 to present.