Walker Percy (1916-1990) was an American novelist born in Birmingham, Ala. and who died in Covington, La. Percy was known for his philosophical and psychological novels in which characters search for happiness. He was influenced by the existentialists and his conversion to Roman Catholicism and is known as a major Southern writer. His most famous novel is The Moviegoer (1961). Percy taught at Loyola University and was instrumental in getting John Kennedy Toole's novel A Confederacy Of Dunces published in 1980.
This collection of cancelled personal checks originated from Walker Percy’s office at his home in Covington, LA and was donated by his daughter Ann Percy Moores. The collection consists of checks written by Percy and his wife Mary from 1956-1965 to various business and individuals
This collection originated from Walker Percy’s office at his home in Covington and was donated by his daughter after the death of Mrs. Mary “Bunt” Percy. Handwritten notes, typescripts with marginalia, drafts of speeches and lectures, and correspondence and photocopies of correspondence make up majority of the collection. There are a number of collected articles and academic journals that contain pieces written about Percy as well as unpublished academic papers and theses about him and his writing. The range of the material in the collection focuses mainly on the latter half of Percy’s life.
Letters and photographs document the relationship between the novelist Walker Percy and New Orleans priest Elmo L. Romagosa.
Charles Suhor was born in New Orleans in 1935. An educator, books and literature critic, musician, and amateur linguist, Suhor wrote a review of Walker Percy’s work, Love in the Ruins, which Carolyn Davis sent a copy of to Percy in 1971. Percy responded, after which Suhor initiated a correspondence with Percy in 1975.
Letters from Walker Percy to New Orleanian and former Jesuit priest William Walsh regarding Percy's book Lancelot.
The Patrick Samway book collection includes rare, out of print, and international editions of books primarily by Southern writers including works by Walker Percy. Samway also wrote a biography of Percy, " Walker Percy; A Life" (1997).
Catholic Daughters of the Americas, Court Mater Dei #868 Collection (Link to PDF for collection Finding Aid)
The Catholic Daughters of the Americas, Court Mater Dei #868 Collection consists primarily of newspaper clippings and photographs. These clippings and photographs were included in scrapbooks and photograph albums chronicling the history of the Court Mater Dei #868 branch of the Catholic Daughters of the Americas, an organization still active today with nearly 75,000 members and contributing to such charitable causes as Habitat for Humanity International.
Janet Mary Riley Papers (Link to PDF for collection Finding Aid)
The Janet Mary Riley Papers reflect Riley’s academic career at Loyola University as the first female law professor in New Orleans, as well as her university service. Much is dedicated to her successful efforts to revise Louisiana’s community property laws to give women equal management of the community with their spouses.
Louisiana Women Writers Symposium Collection (Link to PDF for collection Finding Aid)
The Louisiana Women Writers Symposium Collection primarily consists of correspondence and photographs relating to the organization of the symposium and the publication of essays presented during the event. The Louisiana Women Writers Symposium, co-sponsored by Loyola University and the Women’s Studies Consortium of Louisiana, was held on September 19-20, 1986 at Loyola University New Orleans. The conference was funded by the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities and co-directed by Dorothy H. Brown and Barbara C. Ewell, faculty members of the English department of City College, Loyola University.
The Phil Johnson Editorials (Link to PDF for collection Finding Aid)
The editorials in this collection were authored by Phil Johnson during his long career at WWL-TV and aired on the station as a regular nightly presentation from March, 1962 through July, 1999. The collection chronicles the 36-year political history of New Orleans and Louisiana from 1962-1999 and embarks, on occasion, upon topics relating to Women’s Issues.
Miscellaneous University PublicationsUniversity or university-related publications that were short-lived or publications that are just beginning.