Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference books online
Reference books are a great way to find out basic, widely-accepted information on a topic. Highly recommended for those just starting out who want to dig deeper on a issue, individual, phenomenon, or trend.
Race and Racism
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism (2013)
2nd Edition, provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored. Given the increasingly diverse population of the United States and the rapid effects of globalization, as well as mass and social media, the issue of race in world affairs, history, and culture is of preeminent importance.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism (2009)
Three volumes, over 1400 pages, from 2009.
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity & Culture
Provides the historical background and etymology of a wide range of words related to race, ethnicity and culture from a broadly multicultural perspective.
Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
This encyclopedia explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas, while tracing the many ways in which the Americas remain closely interconnected with Africa.
African Biographical Dictionary
Brings together cultural, social and political leaders—both historical and contemporary—of the sub-Saharan region.
Encyclopedia of African History
Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the eEncyclopedia is an A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent.
New Encyclopedia of Africa
Five volumes, over 3000 pages, originally published 2008.
Encyclopedia of South Africa
This authoritative, comprehensive reference work covers South Africa's history, government and politics, law, society and culture, economy and infrastructure, demography, environment, and more, from the era of human origins to the present.
History of South African Literature
A critical study of South African literature, from colonial and pre-colonial times onwards.
South Africa's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
This authoritative work examines 500 years of interaction between the races in a country that during the apartheid era became a byword for racial disharmony.
Monroe Library Chat
Chat with the AJCU consortium:
Chat with Backup Staff:
Our chat service is offline.
Please contact us at 504-864-7111 or at firstname.lastname@example.org