Exploring a Company's Website
Here are the types of documents you can find by browsing the site map of the example website we used in class:
- annual reports
- presentations for investors
- progress reports
- fact sheets
- supplier list
- press releases
- SEC filings
- investor/shareholder directory
- Wayback MachineThis is an archive of the web. You are able to type in a URL and look at historic "snapshots" of what that webpage looked like at selected dates in the past.
Handouts for Finding Company Information
- Handout - Company InformationFor use with Business Source Complete database (see top of this research guide to access that database).
Search SEC Filings
- SEC Company FilingsUse this tool from the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission to find information that public companies file with the SEC
Nonprofit Research
- Nonprofit Explorer Tool From ProPublicaUse this database to view summaries of 3 million tax returns from tax-exempt organizations and see financial details such as their executive compensation and revenue and expenses. You can browse IRS data released since 2013 and access more than 14 million tax filing documents going back as far as 2001.
Recommended Database
- Business Source CompleteFind articles about business in magazines, newspapers and journals, author profiles, and country economic reports. Coverage varies, as early as 1886 to present. See handout titled "Company Profiles in Business Source Complete" for step-by-step instructions on locating information on a specific company.
News Sources
- Access World NewsA full-text collection of over 6700 primarily U.S. newspapers. Source for the New Orleans Advocate and Times-Picayune.
- New York TimesFull-text access to current and archive issues of the New York Times is provided by Monroe Library to all current students, staff, and faculty. First-time users will need to create an account using their Loyola email before logging in.
- Regional Business NewsFull text articles from 75 business publications from around the country. Includes New Orleans CityBusiness. (you can also go directly to
https://neworleanscitybusiness.com/ but from their site you may not have access to full text of all articles) - Times-Picayune [New Orleans] 1989 - presentSearch or browse for full text of the New Orleans daily newspaper, the Times-Picayune. Part of America's News. 1989 to present.
- Wall Street JournalAll Loyola faculty, staff, and students have access to their own individual WSJ subscription. Sign in through sso. This program is sponsored by the College of Business.
Data Sources
- data.census.govData.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.
- City of New Orleans Open DataIn 2016 the City of New Orleans adopted its first ever data policy with goals for cataloging and opening City data. Includes maps (food truck zones, grocery stores, restaurants - as indicated by occupational licenses, business associations, urban gardens, festivals and markets) and datasets (Certified Disadvantaged Business Enterprise directory).
- Greater New Orleans Community Data Center (GNOCDC)New Orleans demographics, disaster recovery indicators, and actionable data visualization. Includes easy to use maps, high–demand downloadable spreadsheets and slideshows, video briefings, and objective analyses.
- Census Business Builder: Small Business EditionSmall Business Edition is primarily for small business owners who need key data for their business plan or to better understand their potential market. It presents data for a single type of business at a time.
Librarian
Related Guides
Local Startup Information
- Greater New Orleans Startup ReportThe Albert Lepage Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation at Tulane University has launched the Greater New Orleans Startup Report to address the need for regional benchmarking for the startup and early-stage economy. Thanks to overwhelming community support, for the very first time we have ecosystem-wide data that facilitate insights on revenue and hiring needs and provide clues as to what it will take to help our companies grow. https://freeman.tulane.edu/greater-new-orleans-startup-index
examples of industry specific databases
- Hospitality & Tourism IndexIndustry and scholarly articles on the tourism and hospitality industries from more than 500 journals and magazines. Dates vary, some as far back as 1950 to present.