It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MGT_-B245 Managing People and Organizations (Weinberg): Home
Exploring a Company's Website
Here are the types of documents you can find by browsing the site map of the example website we used in class:
Use this database to view summaries of 3 million tax returns from tax-exempt organizations and see financial details such as their executive compensation and revenue and expenses. You can browse IRS data released since 2013 and access more than 14 million tax filing documents going back as far as 2001.
Find articles about business in magazines, newspapers and journals, author profiles, and country economic reports. Coverage varies, as early as 1886 to present. See handout titled "Company Profiles in Business Source Complete" for step-by-step instructions on locating information on a specific company.
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Business Source Complete tags content with NAICS codes.
Full text articles from 75 business publications from around the country. Includes New Orleans CityBusiness. (you can also go directly to
https://neworleanscitybusiness.com/ but from their site you may not have access to full text of all articles)
Searchable full text of the daily newspaper. 1980 to present. To view other NYT publications, click "Publications" above the search box or go to http://ezproxy.loyno.edu/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/nytimes/publicationbrowse/news/?accountid=12168
In 2016 the City of New Orleans adopted its first ever data policy with goals for cataloging and opening City data. Includes maps (food truck zones, grocery stores, restaurants - as indicated by occupational licenses, business associations, urban gardens, festivals and markets) and datasets (Certified Disadvantaged Business Enterprise directory).
New Orleans demographics, disaster recovery indicators, and actionable data visualization. Includes easy to use maps, high–demand downloadable spreadsheets and slideshows, video briefings, and objective analyses.
Small Business Edition is primarily for small business owners who need key data for their business plan or to better understand their potential market. It presents data for a single type of business at a time.
The Albert Lepage Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation at Tulane University has launched the Greater New Orleans Startup Report to address the need for regional benchmarking for the startup and early-stage economy. Thanks to overwhelming community support, for the very first time we have ecosystem-wide data that facilitate insights on revenue and hiring needs and provide clues as to what it will take to help our companies grow. https://freeman.tulane.edu/greater-new-orleans-startup-index