Subject Guide
How to Use This Guide
This guide gives an overview of research resources for CMMN A101, Communications Writing.
Getting Started
Before you begin your research, it's a good idea to get a broad overview of your topic. Many of your professors don't want you to cite Wikipedia or other online encyclopedias, but these resources can get you oriented and point you towards more in-depth resources. Use a Google search or Wikipedia to get ideas of search terms that you can later use in library resources.
Off-campus access
Newspapers
- Access World NewsA full-text collection of over 6700 primarily U.S. newspapers. Source for the New Orleans Advocate and Times-Picayune.
- Black Life in America
Database of newspaper primary sources related to the experiences and impacts of African Americans, arranged by era and topic.
- Hispanic Life in AmericaDatabase of newspaper primary sources related to the experiences and impacts of Hispanic Americans, arranged by era and topic. Monroe Library currently has access to content up until 1941.
- Maroon campus newspaperThe Maroon, the student newspaper of Loyola University New Orleans, has been published since 1923. The Maroon covers student life, campus activities, cultural and athletic events, Loyola University New Orleans administration, faculty and staff, and other features.
- New York TimesFull-text access to current and archive issues of the New York Times is provided by Monroe Library to all current students, staff, and faculty. First-time users will need to create an account using their Loyola email before logging in.
- Times-Picayune [New Orleans] 1837-presentSearch across all available years of the New Orleans daily newspaper. Older in image and newer in plain text.
- Wall Street JournalAll Loyola faculty, staff, and students have access to their own individual WSJ subscription. Sign in through sso. This program is sponsored by the College of Business.
Finding Scholarly Articles
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
Multimedia
- Wikimedia CommonsA database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
- Google Advanced Image SearchUse the "Usage Rights" drop-down menu at the bottom to find images available for reuse.
- Louisiana Digital Media ArchiveThe Louisiana Digital Media Archive is the online home of the Louisiana Public Broadcasting Digital Collection and the Louisiana State Archives Multimedia Collection.
- WYES Informed Sources ArchiveIn 1984, WYES, New Orleans' public television station, began broadcasting Informed Sources, a program devoted to in-depth discussion of the news by local journalists. The Informed Sources digital collection consists of mp4s, originally recorded in both VHS and Betacam formats.
- LOUISiana Digital LibraryDigitized materials from Loyola University New Orleans’ Special Collections and Archives are available in the LOUISiana Digital Library.
The LOUISiana Digital Library (LDL) is an online library of Louisiana institutions that provides over 144,000 digital materials. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from the Louisiana institution's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories in the state electronically accessible to Louisiana residents and to students, resear