Related Guides
Frequently Used
- Online catalogThe library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology. 1991 to present.
Government Documents
This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).
Library Resources
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsSearch and retrieval service that links to Federal agency online resources or identifies government publications distributed to Federal Depository Libraries. As some government documents are printed in various languages, some non-English language materials may be represented in the catalog. Covers 1994 to present.
- Congressional BasicCongressional information, including hearings and reports, is available in full text; the Serial Set goes all the way back to 1789. This is an excellent resource for compiling federal legislative histories or for researching the changes and attempted changes in federal laws. Courtesy of the Law Library.
- Legislative InsightLegislative Insight is a comprehensive database tool for researching United State Federal legislative history. Courtesy of the Law Library.
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesU.S. government compilation of statistics on thousands of topics.
- Statistical Abstract of the WorldComprehensive summary of statistics by country on social, political, and economic conditions.
- Supreme Court InsightSupreme Court Insight, 1975-2016, is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs.
Federal Resources
- American FactFinderThe United States Census Bureau's web site; has been the primary means for the agency to distribute census results since the 1990 census. Contains information on demographics, housing, business, and industries.
Various sources of general statistics. See also specific areas, such as Business, for statistics in those areas.
- Center for Disease ControlThe CDC operates to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats. Data and statistics available by topic.
- Congressional Research Service [CRS] Reports"The Congressional Research Service, a component of the Library of Congress, conducts research and analysis for Congress on a broad range of national policy issues."
- Data.govData.gov functions to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Over 182,580 data sets ranging from agriculture, consumerism, and science.
- FBI Records: The VaultThe Vault is the FBI's new electronic reading room, containing 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies so you can read them in the comfort of your home or office. Search here for information on the gangster era and unexplained phenomenon.
- FDLP PartnershipsLink to FDLP Partnerships information.
- FDsys - Federal Digital SystemThe Government Publishing Office's Federal Digital System of U.S. Government document information. Find the most recent Budget of the United States Government.
- Federal Depository Library Program Basic CollectionLink to the FDLP Basic Collection.
- Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading RoomThe FOIA Electronic Reading Room contains documents released through the FOIA and other CIA release programs. Find information about UFOs and the CIA.
- Fuel EconomyThe official U.S. government source for fuel economy information. Compare car information, gas mileage tips, and all electric vehicles.
- GovernmentAttic.orgProvides electronic copies of thousands of interesting Federal Government documents obtained under the Freedom of Information Act. Features fascinating historical documents, reports on items in the news, oddities and fun stuff and government bloopers.
- Library of CongressThe Library's mission is to support the Congress in fulfilling its constitutional duties and to further the progress of knowledge and creativity for the benefit of the American people.
- Quick FactsQuick facts from the U.S. Census - the principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System responsible for producing data about the American people and economy. QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
- Storm Events Database (NOAA)This database currently contains data from January 1950 to November 2014, as entered by NOAA's National Weather Service (NWS). Includes storms and other significant weather phenomena that have sufficient intensity to cause loss of life, injuries, significant property damage and/or disruption to commerce.
- The CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Users can search regional and world maps. Flags of the world are also listed.
- Congress.govThe leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public. Since that time, Congress.gov has expanded the scope of its offerings for these purposes.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsThe Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making.
- U.S. Government Publishing OfficeThe U.S Government Publishing Office (GPO) provides publishing and dissemination services for the official and authentic government publications to Congress, Federal agencies, Federal depository libraries, and the American public. Read the Report Card on the U.S. Economy.
- United States Census BureauA guide to the Census surveys and products. Watch the World Population Clock!
- USA.govAs the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. Check out the Money and Credit feature: Unclaimed Money, Free Credit Report, and Where's My Refund?
State Resources
- Louisiana.govLouisiana.gov contains a comprehensive online directory of services provided by state government. Services include licenses and permits, certifications, registrations, filings, publications, e-mail offerings, databases, and information resources.
- Demographics and Census GeographyStatistical information and data for the state of Louisiana. Find most current demographic information parish by parish.
- Louisiana Government Agency IndexA to Z index of state government agencies and resources for Louisiana. Information on how to order birth and death certificates.
- Department of Wildlife and FisheriesThe Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) is the state agency responsible for management of the state’s renewable natural resources including all wildlife and all aquatic life. This website contains information on how to apply for licenses and permits, boat registration. Also topics of interest include Hunter's Education.
- Louisiana Office of Motor VehiclesThe Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) performs functions of the state relative to the examination and licensing of operators of motor vehicles, the suspension and revocation of such licenses, issuance of vehicle title and registration certificates, license plates for all motor vehicles operated upon the highways of the state, recordation of liens against vehicles, and the collection of sales/use tax and other appropriate fees, all in accordance with applicable laws.
Local Resources
- City of New OrleansOfficial web page of the city of New Orleans and the Mayor's Office.
- New Orleans District Army Corps of EngineersTeam New Orleans provides comprehensive water resources management to include navigation, hurricane and storm damage risk reduction and environmental stewardship for south Louisiana to ensure public safety and benefit the nation. Our team is also prepared to conduct contingency operations as well as support the national response plan.
- The Greater New Orleans Community Data CenterSince 1997, the Greater New Orleans Community Data Center (GNOCDC) has been gathering, analyzing, and disseminating data to help nonprofit and civic leaders work smarter and more strategically. A product of Nonprofit Knowledge Works, GNOCDC is recognized across the country for expertise in New Orleans area demographics, disaster recovery indicators, and actionable data visualization.
- FEMA Flood MapsFEMA is launching a new way to view your community.s preliminary flood hazard data - over the web and in one convenient location! Preliminary flood hazard data provide the public an early look at your home or community's risk to flood hazards.
- National Hurricane CenterProvides weather, water, and climate data, forecasts and warnings for the protection of life and property and enhancement of the national economy.
- GNOInfo.comLocal community based site with information on housing, education, child care, healthcare, jobs, and local businesses.
International Resources
- UNESCOThe United Nations Organization for Education, Science and Culture (UNESCO) was founded on 16 November 1945. UNESCO works to create the conditions for dialogue among civilizations, cultures and peoples, based upon respect for commonly shared values. It is through this dialogue that the world can achieve global visions of sustainable development encompassing observance of human rights, mutual respect and the alleviation of poverty, all of which are at the heart of UNESCO’S mission and activities.
- GOV.ukThe best place to find government services and information about the United Kingdom's departments, announcements, policies, and more.
