Subject Guide
Musical Theatre resources
- Musical Theater SongsSearch for individual songs in musicals by voice type, character's age, and tempo, and select whether comedic or dramatic. Additional searching by composer, lyricist and more. Actual scores are generally not included.
- RILM Abstracts of Musical LiteratureProvides citations and abstracts to articles, dissertations and books on music. Includes some non-English language material. 1967 to present. Limited to five simultaneous users.
- Grove Dictionary of American MusicSecond edition of the multivolume encyclopedia of American popular and serious music, including musical theater and opera, concert music, music technology, dance, performers, composers, audiences, jazz, musical instruments, and music education. Library purchase with a gift from Lester and Gloria Kabakoff.
- IPA SourceCollection of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
- Naxos Music LibrarySearch for, browse among and listen to classical, jazz and other musical recordings. Date range does not apply. All recordings available in full.
Other periodical databases and online resources
- JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
Newpapers
Use the library's newspaper databases to find reviews and articles about theatrical productions and performances.
- New York TimesFull-text access to current and archive issues of the New York Times is provided by Monroe Library to all current students, staff, and faculty. First-time users will need to create an account using their Loyola email before logging in.
- Times-Picayune [New Orleans] 1989 - presentSearch or browse for full text of the New Orleans daily newspaper, the Times-Picayune. Part of America's News. 1989 to present.
- Times-Picayune [New Orleans] 1837-1988Locate articles in the New Orleans Times-Picayune newspaper by word or date for 1837 through 1988.
Books, Scores and CDs at the Monroe Library
- Monroe Library Online CatalogSearch by subject for books about playwrights or plays or historical time periods. Search by author or title for plays. To find a play in an anthology, search keyword by title. Remember that the title of the play may not be the title of the book. Check the catalog record tab for the play's title in the book's table of contents. To search for songs, choose Music Scores or Music CDs under the menu that says Everything.
- CDs to learn accents for actingThe library owns many CDs that will help you learn an accent for acting
- Request for PurchaseIf there is a book, score or recording that the library does not own, use this link to request that we purchase it for the library. Or email your request to phillips@loyno.edu
Books, Scores and CDs not at the Monroe Library
- WorldCatCatalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
- Tulane University's online catalogUndergraduates at Loyola can check out books, scores and CDs at Tulane's library with a TU/LU card.
- Interlibrary LoanUse interlibrary loan to request books or scores from other libraries. Before requesting an interlibrary loan, check to see if the Monroe Library can purchase the material you need more quickly. To request articles through interlibrary loan, use the Get It button from a citation in a library database.
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).