Skip to main content

Off-campus electronic product troubleshooting: Home

Information on dealing with problems encountered when using the library's electronic databases, e-books and e-journals while off campus.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request books from other libraries. Before requesting an interlibrary loan, check to see if the Monroe Library can purchase the material you need more quickly. To request articles through interlibrary loan, use the Get It! button from a citation in a library database.

Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources

Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).

Troubleshooting questions and answers

Please go through this page from top to bottom, checking the points listed below. There are many issues that can complicate or prevent access to our electronic resources. The most frequent problems are: not currently registered for classes or browser issues. Please try again in a different location or try a different browser on your computer. Once you've gone through all these points, then you are ready to contact us directly for assistance. Current staff and faculty can also use the Virtual Private Network.

 

HOW DO I ACCESS DATABASES FROM OFF-CAMPUS?


The Monroe Library subscribes to many electronic services for use by Loyola's faculty, staff and currently-enrolled students. Links are in our web pages.

If you are a currently-registered student, faculty member or other employee of the University, enter your Loyola email account user name. The user name is the first part of your email address.  If your email address is stiggy@my.loyno.edu, your user name is stiggy.  Do not use your campus-wide ID (CWID). 

Student passwords are the personal identification number (PIN) that you use for the LORA system.  If your PIN is longer than six characters, use only the first six.  If there are any letters in your PIN, capitalize them.  Changing the LORA PIN has worked for some students with login difficulties.  Contact Student Records at sturec@loyno.edu or (504) 865-3237. Please allow 24 hours minimum after changing your LORA PIN for the new one to go into effect.

If you have changed your Loyola LORA login password, then use your new password. Off-campus access login uses exactly the same login.

If this does not work, contact Information Technology, Monday to Friday 8:30 am to 4:45 pm in person, or by phone at 504-865-2255.  Don't know your Loyola email account information? You can find your email address by looking it up in the Loyola directory, or you can find it in the "Personal Info" section of your LORA account.


WHO CAN USE DATABASES THROUGH THE MONROE LIBRARY?

Loyola's electronic databases are available to current Loyola University New Orleans students, staff and faculty only. We cannot extend this privilege to alumni or members of the general public. Try your local public library.


DO YOU SEE THE LOG-IN SCREEN?

When you click on one of the databases, Do you see a red log-in screen? This is the proxy server login page. If you don't see this page when you try to get into a database, please report the exact text of the error message when you contact the library.


ARE YOU LOGGING IN CORRECTLY?

Your username is the part of your Loyola email address before the @ sign. For example, hobbs, not hobbs@loyno.edu.


ARE YOU USING A POP-UP PROTECTOR?

Some products require a new window to pop up. If you have a pop-up protector active, try turning it off or allowing pop-ups for a particular site.


IS YOUR BROWSER SET TO ACCEPT COOKIES?

In Microsoft Internet Explorer version 7, click on Tools, drag down to Internet Options, and click on the Privacy tab. Look at the settings. Here's what works and doesn't:

Block All Cookies: will not work
High: will not work
Medium High: will work
Medium: will work
Low: will work
Accept All Cookies: will work
Turn on Pop-up Blocker: will not work
Other browsers have similar settings. Try changing them to accept more sites and see if this makes a difference.


CAN YOU GET INTO ANY DATABASE?

Try a database from a different company. If you can't get into an EBSCOhost database, try one from ProQuest or another provider. If you can then gain access, the problem is with the database provider. Databases by company:

EBSCOhost: Academic Search Complete, AGRICOLA, ATLA Religion/ATLAS, Business Source Complete, Catholic Literature & Periodical Index, CINAHL Plus Full Text, Communications & Mass Media Complete, ERIC, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Health Source: Nursing/Academic, MAS Ultra (School Edition), MEDLINE, Military & Government Online, MLA International Bibliography, Primary Search, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, and Regional Business News.

ProQuest: ABI/Inform, Criminal Justice Periodicals, Los Angeles Times, New York Times current and Historic, Religious Periodicals, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal.

Gale: Biography Resource Center, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writer Series, Twayne Author Series.

Oxford: Oxford Art, Oxford English Dictionary (OED), Oxford Language Dictionaries Online, Oxford Music, Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection.

If this works, please contact the Learning Commons Desk to report the problem. The telephone number is 504-864-7111. Thank you.


ARE YOU USING A FIREWALL?

A firewall is hardware or software that will block outside users from your computer. A hardware firewall might be part of your home network. Windows includes a software firewall that is automatically turned on. There are also other firewalls like that you can install separately. Check the settings to be sure you can use our services.


WHAT BROWSER ARE YOU USING?

Try another browser or a newer version of the same browser. If you're using an older version of Internet Explorer, update your version. If you're using Internet Explorer, try a different browser, such as Chrome, Opera or Firefox.


HAVE YOU CLEARED YOUR BROWSER'S CACHE?

Cache is your browser's storage on your computer. Your most recently viewed web pages are saved on your computer and loaded from there instead of from the internet to save time. Your browser may be 'remembering' pages with information in them that's no longer correct. In your browser look for a Tools or Options menu that includes a way to clear the cache memory.


IS THE BROWSER AUTOMATICALLY FILLING IN YOUR LOGIN INFORMATION?

If so, it may be using incorrect information. Turn the feature off or tell the browser not to fill in forms for the site ezproxy.loyno.edu.


WHERE ARE YOU WORKING?

If you're at work, try working at home, and vice versa. If you can, try someone else's computer. Many workplaces have restrictions in effect that block your use of our resources.


DO YOU NEED ADDITIONAL HELP?

If you still have problems, contact the Learning Commons Desk at 504-864-7111, or Jim Hobbs at 504-864-7126 (Monday to Friday 8:45 am to 4:45 pm) or hobbs at loyno.edu. Please have the exact text of error messages and detailed list of steps followed and symptoms. (For example: Are you currently registered for classes? Have you graduated? What browser are you using? What services were you using? Can you use your Loyola email?)

 

Subject Guide

Jim Hobbs's picture
Jim Hobbs
Contact:
6363 St. Charles Ave.
Box 198
New Orleans, LA 70118
504-864-7126
Website